POETRY

dispatches from the [creative] field

processing a poem-video

Armando Batista
Contemplate

--

Photo credit: Frank Albrecht

Hey ya. This is a series about the creative process. Here’s my first post. It’s about my thinking through a collage piece for my future poetry book, RoaDMaN.

In this dispatch, I’m sharing with you an experimental piece. The poem is called Rotten Fruit Philosophy.

At this point I won’t say too much about the poem and the video. I want you to experience it. If you feel like responding to the work, by all means drop me a line on here or in the video comments. I plan to break it down in the following edits of the video. But for now, all you need to know is that I recorded the poem on my smart phone (iPhone XR) and I composed the video on iMovie. So, without further delay, here’s the video. Hope you dig it:

© Armando Batista, 2020 All Rights Reserved

Armando Batista is a trickster spirit in human form, hailing from Washington Heights, NYC. He is the child of immigrants. A trained actor and performing artist, Armando has worked on stage, screen, and in multiple venues and spaces, transforming the everyday into a magical moment for curiosity and imagination. He holds a Masters in Creative Writing from Vermont College Fine Arts, and currently down the rabbit hole of a poetry book project which he envisions as a “gaming experience in poetics and wordplay” for the reader; think CYOA meets visual poetry and hybrid text at an underground house party… He currently resides in the DMV area.

--

--

Armando Batista
Contemplate

I am a multi-hyphenate creative. (poet-performer-educator-entrepreneur-consultant)