Poetry

Echoes of Sorrow

a cry for freedom

Melissa Mann
Contemplate

--

Picture by Ben Vaughn on Unsplash

I am not from Palestine, but I have written this from the perspective of a child in Gaza.

Our heads on the ground,

Our spirits in the air.

We are here to stay,

they say they don’t care.

Why are they shooting at us,

I don’t understand.

We are just like them,

No one’s offering a hand.

They say it’s our leaders,

We came to kill their daughters.

We’ve been taught to hate,

But it’s us being slaughtered.

Our limbs on the ground,

Their weight on our spine.

What happened to humanity,

Please, world, free Palestine.

Book recommendations:

  1. The Hundred Years’ War on Palestine: A History of Settler-Colonial Conquest and Resistance, 1917–2017 by Rashid Khalidi
  2. The Biggest Prison on Earth: A History of the Occupied Territories by Ilan Pappé
  3. On Palestine by Noam Chomsky, Ilan Pappé & Frank Barat
  4. Minor Detail by Adania Shibli
Brand art thanks to Gael MacLean

--

--

Melissa Mann
Contemplate

Psychology student trying to navigate through life. I read and I write about things that matter to me in hopes they matter to you too.