Poem

Float like a Butterfly, Sing like a Bee

Love without Surcharge

David Penberg
Contemplate

--

Photo by Gary Bendig on Unsplash

God, let me forgive
Those who trespassed against me
For they knew not what they did.
And while your at it, can I be forgiven
For those who thru my ignorance and fear
I have trespassed against?

Can we settle
All outstanding accounts?
Debts owed?
Loans never honored?

Resentment
Is but a clogged artery
A hardening around
The muscle of the heart.

I just want
To float like a butterfly
And sing like a bee
To every bud and petal
I pledge fidelity.

Can you cut me some slack?
Free me from the weight
Of waiting for forgiveness
That’s like a check in the mail that never comes.
A phone call that never rings.

Can you give me love without surcharge?
No other currency matters.
Just want to enjoy
The boundless wealth
Of giving
And receiving.
And giving more.

--

--

David Penberg
Contemplate

Educator/Writer. A lifer, as in a learner. 4 decades with kids, teachers, in schools, colleges & community spaces. Seeking the questions with humility & wonder