POETRY

God’s Favorite Child or Forsaken Child?

The clingy little kid in you and me

--

Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

I always thought I was God’s favorite child.
The opportunities that came by,
And the good tides that rocked me,
I felt certain I was destiny’s most favorite child.

But when a little adversity struck.
Often I wondered why is this happening to me?
I questioned Him. “Am I not your most favorite child anymore?
And cried out, “Oh, God! I thought you loved me?!

Why would He consider me any less?
There was no reason to punish a good girl like me!
Why o why did you forsake me?” I pleaded with HIM.
Heart of hearts, I hoped He still loved me the best.

Years passed, Marriage happened…

We were blessed with a beautiful daughter.
And we loved her like the apple of our eyes.
We were then blessed with a cute son.
Still, she’s the apple of our eyes.

Almost every day these days,
whenever I rebuke her to mend her.
She snaps at me… “But I thought you loved me?!
Do you love me or my brother more?”

I deny her the 3rd candy for the afternoon.
She asks. “But I thought you loved me the best?
I cuddle her little brother an extra minute.
She cries out, “But I am still your most favorite child! Am I not?

--

--

Brinda Koushik | Copywriter | Mom | Avid Reader
Contemplate

Writer, Marketing Infopreneur, Mom of 2 munchkins, Children's book author, and an Optimist Forever. On a mission to inspire a million moms realize their power.