Respite

Brenda Mahler
Contemplate
Published in
2 min readSep 10, 2019

--

Allowing yourself rest, provides others a better you

Photo by Alex Simpson on Unsplash

Respite is defined as a short period of rest or relief from something difficult or unpleasant.

Today, I sat, read, and wrote. My husband, daughter and her husband visited relatives, people I love, while I stayed at home.

At first, guilt invaded my heart because I should have joined them. I worried my absence would be seen as a slight. How would my husband respond to questions?

  • Is she sick?
  • Why did she not come?
  • What is she doing today?
  • How does she feel?

How will his answers be interpreted when he explains I needed some time to myself. It does sound self-centered. Maybe I am placing myself above others because family is important. My presence is important to support others.

Once I calmed my apprehension and recognized the existentialism of my thought, my breathing calmed. Once I accepted the fact that the world doesn’t revolve around me I began to relax.

Before long my mind focused on the immediate, my body relaxed in acceptance, an my eyes accepted the obvious. I refocused. If anyone asked what I did, I would say nothing.

In reality. . .

  • I soaked my body in a hot bath to remind myself of the…

--

--

Brenda Mahler
Contemplate

Real life person sharing real life stories. Writing about travel, dogs, and healthy lifestyles.