Poetry

Shallow Labyrinth

A poem about online life

Words by Egypt
Contemplate

--

Photo by Vince Kowalski on Unsplash

How is it I walk in this maze with no exit?

The delightful never filling well, consumes me

With each like, each heart, each thumbs up, I walk deeper

The dusky clouds of mental fog and haze become my companions

The more I walk, the more I become lost

Desperately trying to escape this soulless route laden with deadly enticement

Is that a light I see hidden behind the shadows?

Or is it another bright object vying for my attention?

Perhaps If I chase it, I might find a way out

And so I chase, chase chase

As I draw closer the saving light escapes me

My heart yearns to be whole again. To escape this path of shadows

To remember my wholeness. My Beauty. My Worth

To remember myself before I walked into this shallow labyrinth

Poet’s commentary

This poem is inspired by the ridiculousness of our collective attachment to digital devices, and too excessive use of the Internet and social media. It can be an endless overflowing well of shallow experience, and information. Flooding our senses and cluttering our minds.

I want to curate my life in a manner where I am more intentional about where I gift my attention. Because I see the pointlessness of spending so much time on a vast online sea of mostly nonsense.

Brand art by Gael MacLean

--

--

Words by Egypt
Contemplate

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt