POETRY

Tribute to a healer

A tribute to someone I loved

Adya Mantoo
Contemplate

--

On the verge of breaking

Someone stepped on my soul

Chest pains with grief

Bare is my soul

Forgetful memories etched

Your name but

now I do remember you there

Swathed in sunlit gaze

You say I am being too optimistic

But what is there left to do when one is covered in darkness

Dark dark times makes everyone a prey

Oh how

Oh how!

Oh how have times been

Tell me, someone, how does time heal

Can time heal a soul in darkness?

Can it bring back the light

cheerful and lasting

The ones which had someone

Who is no more here with me

Do tell me

Do tell me

Do tell me

….

Souls have light

We all lay bare

But there is a time where that light reaches within

Where we lay waiting

Waiting for that day

Alas, I believe in this light

I believe times do change

A new year is on its way

Bringing times fresh and lively!

I don’t know about healing

But let’s sit and wait

Who knows if time can heal

But times do change

Times do change

Times do change

This poem was written in grief for someone who was family.

--

--

Adya Mantoo
Contemplate

Published Author of five Anthologies • Poet • Writer • I write to express • Growing with the flow