RELATIONSHIPS

Valerie — Based On A True Story

Part 1 of 3

Daniel Caruana Smith
Contemplate

--

Feelings are like waves. We can’t stop them, but we can choose which ones to surf.

The following is based on a true story I’ve seen unfold. Names have been changed, but situations are exactly as I’ve experienced them, or heard about.

Mike was on his 7th beer of the evening. As a belch rumbled through his chest, I hoped he’d keep it down.

“That’s enough.” I cautioned.

Eight years I’ve known him. He’s a good friend, like a human conscience, someone I could discuss anything with.

“What’s up?” I sipped my coffee.

A wisp of steam danced from the cup between us.

“It’s Valerie.”

“Again? I thought it was over. You’d moved on.”

He shook his head.

“How long’s it been going on for?”

“Three weeks and four days.”

He’d been counting.

“Run me through it once again.”

“Last September, The Firm recruited Val as an office assistant.”

“And you two get along.”

“Yes, a lot.” His face brightened.

“And you should know better.”

His shoulders slumped.

“I’m her senior. Management doesn’t encourage fraternizing with juniors.”

“You did mention something else last time.” I pushed.

“Guess… I’ve got feelings for her.”

“Guess?”

“I have got feelings for her.”

The words hung in the air between us.

“Mike, she’s been in your head for too long.”

I gazed into his bloodshot eyes.

“Where’s this coming from? You’ve always been happy with May.”

May was Mike’s fiancée. They’d been together for a few years now. As far as I knew, she’d always been good to him, never said a word when he worked late at the office, or forgot something important.

Since Valerie joined The Firm, Mike’s world had been turned upside down. Mentoring her had turned into an affection that made him think of nothing but her all the time.

“C’mon, Mike. I know you’re not being straight with me. I’m more concerned you’re not being straight with yourself.”

He’d put her on a pedestal.

I’ll admit, she’s cute. I’ve seen her a few times. From behind a curtain of hair, she turns pink and smiles every time I ask how her day is going.

“Well?” I asked.

A fly buzzed ‘round the rim of Mike’s empty cup.

“Why the infatuation?”

Infatuation. It sounded like an insult.

“I don’t know. Really,” he mumbled. “Something about her makes me want to take her under my wing.”

I held my up hands and shrugged.

“Nothing wrong with that. Isn’t it part of your job to mentor the staff?”

“Yes, it is.”

Or was it? Was he really helping her out of professional courtesy? Or was it an excuse to spend time with her? I left a few crumpled notes on the table as we left the café.

“Mike, you got to look at yourself.” I broke the silence while driving to May’s place. “Okay, so she flashes you a couple of smiles, you think she’s an angel. That don’t make sense.”

I glanced over at him.

“It’s not like that.”

“Then what is it?”

He squirmed in the seat.

“It’s something in the way she is. Like, always grateful, glad to see me. Like I mean the world to her.”

“You mean the world to May.”

May was different — laid back, easily pleased. I’d always known her as a simple, country girl, happy to go along with anything Mike was up to. She was plain, but faithful.

“May’s low maintenance.” He mumbled.

“Isn’t that a good thing? She doesn’t drive you mad.”

I was beginning to sense his feelings for May were going stale. To his mind, she wasn’t as attractive as Valerie.

“Don’t judge the book by its cover, Mike.”

“Hmm?”

We stopped at a red light.

“You’ve only seen one side of Val — at her desk, all smiles. People aren’t made of cardboard.”

“We did meet up a couple times during break.”

I wanted to punch him as I pulled away.

“What difference does it make? It’s not like you’ve ever seen her in a mood. I’ll bet you she isn’t half what you think of her when she’s not acting all nice ‘round you.”

“Why would she in the first place?”

Jeez. He was clueless.

“Because you’re her boss. Of course she’s gonna suck up to you.”

I pulled up in front of the apartment. May sat on the window sill reading a book, knees drawn up to her chest. She wore jean shorts and an old blue sweater of Mike’s which had been stretched out of shape. Mike said she kept it because it smelled of him.

“Just let that image sink in, think of what you’ve got.” I pointed at May as he stood on the pavement. With a wave to her, I left the two of them.

--

--

Daniel Caruana Smith
Contemplate

Daniel is a writer, senior teacher and geographer based in Malta. His main passion is empowering students to fulfill their aspirations and reach their goals.