Tribute

Where did you go?

I wonder where Grandpa is

Parimandot
Contemplate

--

Photo by Komang Gita Krishna Murti on Unsplash

Falling asleep in your wrinkled arms,
Where did those days go?
Tricked me cause I spoiled your game,
Where did that game go?
Jealousy’s growing within me,
How they got to know you more.

Running from my maa you saved,
Where did my savior go?
I ate before you from your plate,
Where did that menu go?
Jealousy’s growing within me,
brother didn’t get to know you at all.

I want to meet you soon but you push me to stay here,
I doll up as the past but they don’t accept me here,
Your people are so lost guide them to do better,
I wish you could hold it for a few more years.

Maybe I’m selfish, but I need more memories with you,
So I could remember you rather than a distorted vision,
Jealousy’s growing within me,
Where did you go to alone?

I miss you even though I only shared 2 years with you in a blur,
a few moments are all that I have, to reminisce about our past,
It all happened so fast, I’m at a loss at last.

A poem was all I could write about Grandpa, I have no idea if he’s still out there to see this but even if he is, am I holding him back? Is it okay to feel guilty for missing him, wondering about his whereabouts, and wanting more than memories?

Brand art by Gael MacLean

--

--