Poem

Yesterday I Saw Rachel Carson

Epiphanies from Agastya

David Penberg
Contemplate

--

Student Facilitators at the Creativity Campus

Yesterday
I saw
Rachel Carson
With a Sari
The color of wild lilies.
Here in India
Speaking Tamil and
Kannada
With a smile
That would make
Peacocks dance.
Beside test tubes
Notebooks
Testing alkaline
Phosphorus and
Salinity
Of water
With the angelic
Presence of sandalwood trees.
Standing with the confidence
Of cardinals
Waking the day
In song.

2.

Yesterday
I saw Rachel Carson
All 12 years of her curiosity
Determined and open eyed
Listening to nature
With the heart
Of a midwife
Seeking to heal
The wounds of the planet
With the gifts of science
Humility
And regard.

3.

Yesterday
I saw Rachel Carson
Despite the crimes committed
In the name of progress.
Her eyes
Alive with gratitude
And insight
Glowing with wonder
For all living things.

Bring your words.

--

--

David Penberg
Contemplate

Educator/Writer. My default mode is wonder. 4 decades with kids, teachers, in schools, colleges & community spaces. The world is my classroom.