WEEKLY WORK POLITICS — NOTE #4

You Don’t Have To Be Crazy To Work Here!

We’ll train you

Shark in the Suit
Contemplate

--

A image designed by the author (Shark in the Suit) of a notepad and pen. The notepad has a message; “You don’t have to be CRAZY to work here we’ll train you!”
Image designed by the author (Shark in the Suit)

That’s the message I got in LinkedIn for my new job.

“Hey, let’s chat about you joining our company as a product manager, we’ll train you.”

I was thinking “this is it, I’ve hit the jackpot!” but find myself surrounded by red flags instead.

Here’s a list of red flags I’ve experienced:

  1. First week and I was expecting the CEO to message me for a intro call, he was online, but he didn’t reach out at all. I found that a bit strange to be honest but my manager was nice and he gave me work to do instead.

First red flag: CEO didn’t initiate intro call despite being online.

2. I asked my manager to add me to the Jira board, give me access to company documents and everything I need to learn more about the company’s goals, mission and roadmap but instead I found dirty secrets.

Second red flag: Found dirty secrets.

3. Then there’s the tech team, who are apparently living with Big Brother watching their every move.

Third red flag: Tech team monitored excessively.

4. Senior management got no clue on everything; how to set-up emails, clear objectives, strategy and no team meetings.

Fourth red flag: Senior management lack basic skills and direction

5. Everyone look stressed and some had reached out to me in tears.

Fifth red flag: Team members stressed and some in tears.

6. A CEO who never answered any of my questions only with “I’ll get back to you on that”

Sixth red flag: CEO consistently defers questions with promises to get back.

Final Words

If you’re in a situation where several red flags are waving, “ You have to be crazy to work here”. Here are some actionable steps you can consider:

  1. Determine the most effective method of communication.
  2. Assess transparency and address this with your manager or HR to understand why you’re not receiving the information you requested.
  3. Encourage open communication within your team and ask them about the stress environment and how they’ve handled it.
  4. Request clarification on company goals and how your role fits into the larger picture.
  5. Keep a record of your observations and concerns.
  6. If the company culture does not align with your values or career goals, it may be worth exploring other opportunities and prioritize your well-being and professional growth instead.

--

--