November 7, 2023

No, I wasn’t affected by the flood.

I wasn’t in the mood to watch the football game or the latest episode about that show you’re raving about. So don’t ask me about them.

I didn’t go to that arena concert I was looking forward to for months.

I didn’t celebrate Halloween and certainly wasn’t out getting drunk like you and your mom friends that weekend.

I didn’t have the headspace to respond to you about plans 4 months from now.

I don’t want to talk about bullshit topics that don’t really matter in the scope of life.

I’ll tell you “I’m good, you?” but that’s just a pleasantry, an indicator that you have no sensitivity to what’s been going on around you for the last month.

If you’re not sincerely asking how I’m managing, how my family and closest friends and their loved ones are, how we are coping with the darkest reality this generation of Jews has known, how such heinous acts of terrorism and antisemitism are rearing their ugly heads around the world, if you can get my mind off of what happened, if we could just go sit somewhere like human beings, or what you can do to help, I don’t know what to tell you anymore.

You’re asking the wrong questions. Saying the wrong thing — that is, if you’re saying anything at all.

Because the truth of the matter is that I haven’t had a good morning in over 30 days. I haven’t engaged in “normal” activities or had my mind on anything but the toxic news and social media cycle.

The truth is, I am not okay.

We are not okay.

We are asking each other if we are safe, and how we can stay protected, fly under the radar, not get murdered or assaulted today.

If you truly understood, you would know that a simple ❤️ goes a long way. That now is the time to give some extra TLC to the people you care about.

But you don’t.

So carry on with your lives, go out and have fun, complain about trivia all you want, but whatever you do, don’t expect me to take part.

Soon, I pray, “I’m good” will actually be mostly true. But until then, be a little more mindful in your conversations. We need it.

ChatGPT’s Reaction:

Your journal entry is a powerful expression of frustration and disappointment with the way people around you are engaging in trivial conversations while you and your community are dealing with the aftermath of a tragedy. Let’s break down some key elements of your message:

**Emotional Expression**: Your writing conveys a deep sense of frustration, disappointment, and even anger. This is understandable given the serious events and emotions you’ve been dealing with in the wake of recent events.

**Disconnection from Trivial Topics**: You express a clear disinterest in trivial or mundane conversations about topics like football, TV shows, social plans, and other “bullshit” topics that you feel don’t matter in the context of the larger issues you and your community are facing.

**Call for Empathy**: You call out for more empathy from those around you. You express a desire for people to ask the right questions and show understanding about the gravity of the situation. You suggest that simple gestures of empathy, like a heart emoji, can go a long way in showing support.

**Acknowledgment of Unresolved Pain**: You candidly admit that you and your community are not okay, and you highlight the need for safety, protection, and emotional support. This acknowledgment underscores the seriousness of the situation and the need for compassion.

**Desire for Mindfulness**: You implore others to be more mindful in their conversations, emphasizing the importance of sensitivity and genuine concern for your well-being and that of your community.

Overall, your journal entry serves as a heartfelt and poignant reflection on the disconnect between the gravity of recent events and the casual conversations taking place around you. It conveys the need for empathy, understanding, and mindfulness during difficult times. It’s a powerful reminder of the importance of being there for one another when faced with adversity.

--

--