Content design — where I started, what I’ve learned and where I’m going

Josh Barnett
Content at Scope
Published in
3 min readOct 4, 2022

My time at Scope is coming to an end. I have enjoyed it and learned a lot about:

  • content design
  • how it is possible to have a supportive and understanding workplace

Much of this is due to the lovely content team at Scope.

Where I started

Before getting this internship, I worked in the Civil Service doing administrative jobs:

  • answering emails
  • speaking to customers
  • learning to use different systems

It was there that I first heard about content design. At the time, I could not see myself being able to get a job in the field, even though I was interested. I didn’t have a degree, and I thought I had no writing experience.

When I saw the job advert for the Scope internship, it suddenly seemed possible. They asked for examples of any experiences where I had done anything like content design — even if I hadn’t been a writer or designer. I thought about my experience and realised that some of my work had been relevant after all. I had written hundreds of emails and letters explaining complex processes. Even in my everyday life I had examples of ways I had explained things to people. All it took was somebody valuing that experience.

Under a bright blue sky, a winding grass path cuts through the wild growth. Leading to Welsh hills in the distance.

What I’ve learned

My experiences showed I could write in plain language and explain jargon. But there was more to learn to take this skill and turn it into content design. Writing simply is content design but not all content design is writing simply!

A lot of content design is about what most job adverts seem to call ‘managing stakeholders’. What this really means is:

  • being able to convince people content design is a good idea
  • talking to experts and getting useful information from them

The task of convincing people can often be done with data. Basing decisions on what people are searching for takes out unnecessary opinions. Showing how people respond to content can be convincing.

Getting good information can be challenging. One helpful thing to consider is how to frame questions. For advice content, giving a scenario can help. Asking an expert how they would advise someone in a situation can:

  • cut down on the technical information in the answer
  • allow you to lead the conversation
  • help make decisions about what information is important to include

One more thing I have learned: it is easier to solve a problem if you define it before you start. Writing a list of user needs seems like more work, but it helps you know when content is working and when it is finished.

Where I’m going

I am going to be a content designer for Citizens Advice.

I’d like to thank the whole team at Scope for being so welcoming and kind. They all helped me learn the skills I needed to start my career in content design. The success of the internship shows how important it is to have entry-level jobs that are accessible to those without experience in the field.

--

--