Content Consumed: Barbie, Ziwe, Shakira, and Kit Harrington

Casey Noller
Content Consumed
Published in
4 min readApr 5, 2023

Happy Wednesday! Hope you’re all having a great one. In today’s edition of Content Consumed, we’re talking about…

👛 It’s a Barbie world
🌋 Shakira’s ex just made an enemy of… all of Latin America
🥲 Ziwe canceled on Showtime
🎥 Kit Harington in Industry Season 3

We got another Barbie trailer (and posters)!

If I’m not already insufferable enough about this movie… there are still three and a half months to go (and a whole press tour—oh my god, the red carpet will be incredible) before it’s released.

Here’s the trailer. Do I understand the plot more? Eh, not really. Does it matter? Eh, not right now.

Things worth noting from the press dump:

  • Ryan Gosling can tell the haters to back off because he is the perfect Ken. Margot Robbie, as we all knew, was also perfectly cast as the one and only (jk, there are a hundred of them in this movie) Barbie.
  • The tagline for the movie is absolutely perfect, no notes: “She’s everything. He’s just Ken.” The posters nail it.
  • Michael Cera got Riverdale’d, a.k.a. he’s a slick ginger.
  • The posters were a viral hit as expected and I loved this Oppenheimer version someone made. How serious are we about seeing Barbie and Oppenheimer back-to-back when they come out on July 21st, by the way? Because I’m dead serious.
  • Before anyone says anything about Dua Lipa’s blue mermaid wig: it’s SUPPOSED to look silly! Don’t you remember the mermaids having big and colorful hair? It’s the Barbie movie. Come on. (I cannot yet defend her acting chops, however. She wasn’t even in the trailer.)
  • So, so excited for this cast. Let’s goooo.

Gerard Piqué just pissed off 700 million people

Is he the most hated man internationally now?

The Spanish footie player, also known as Shakira’s ex-husband, made a bit of a xenophobic remark regarding his ex-wife’s fans in an interview:

“I am very disappointed with what society is. So my ex is Latin American… you don’t know what I’ve gotten on social media from her fans... Millions of barbarities!.. These people have no lives.”

Yikes!

Shakira replied perfectly with a tweet saying: “Orgullosa de ser Latinoamericana” (I’m proud to be Latin American). It already has over 65 million views and 1 million likes.

Mi reina. Who else is powerful enough to get *all of Latinamerica* in the divorce? And Piqué’s an international soccer player—he had cards to play! But nope. Silly Spanish boy.

Ziwe needs a new home

Late-night talk show and viral Internet clip generator Ziwe, hosted by comedian Ziwe Fumudoh, has officially been canceled by Showtime after two seasons.

Which, despite its cult popularity, makes sense. Because Ziwe’s audience doesn’t do Showtime! It’s too premium without the quantity that HBO provides as a top-tier streamer.

Where Ziwe could actually succeed: Hulu, Netflix, or any other more accessible platform for young people.

Fine, I’ll watch Season 3 of Industry

I’ve been complaining about Industry, but of course, I watched it all.

Unfortunately, I’ve also been called to watch Season 3 since Kit Harington will be in it. He’ll be playing the CEO of “an exciting green tech energy company that’s about to go public.”

What’s Kit Harington been up to, post-Game of Thrones?

Honestly, nothing you could come up with off the top of your head. Maybe How to Train Your Dragon is notable; I don’t know what circles you run in. If you’re into theater, he’s been doing a lot in the West End. He also had two kids with GoT costar Rose Leslie and got sober.

But this is his first return to HBO, so obviously I’ll watch. Damn it, Industry! You got me again.

By the way, I’m rewatching Silicon Valley right now… and it holds up. Good show. (Minus TJ Miller. I choose to ignore him.)

Thank youuuu for reading! I’m trying to get to 500 followers by the end of April. Share this column with your friends and family who love consuming this kind of content!

Cheers,
Casey

👉🏼 Read the most recent Content Consumed over here (which includes a review and recap of the last Succession episode)!

👉🏼 Explore more content over on the Content Consumed Instagram.

👉🏼 Find out what I’m reading at my Goodreads profile.

--

--

Casey Noller
Content Consumed

Welcome to the dinner party. I'll let you know what everyone's talking about—and what everyone should be talking about—with my column, Content Consumed.