Content Consumed: Halloween TV, Grimes, M.I.A., and Draymond Green

Casey Noller
Content Consumed
Published in
5 min readOct 19, 2022

Hey everyone! What a lovely Wednesday—Content Consumed just hit 200 followers on Medium! Super grateful to have each and every one of you as readers.
P.S. If you want extra content, don’t forget to follow the Content Consumed Instagram.

In today’s edition…
🔮 Grimes, M.I.A., Gaddafi, and Elon Musk
🎃 Top 3: Halloween TV episodes
🏀 Draymond Green’s weird-ass mini-doc

Grimes interviewed M.I.A. for Paper Magazine.
It went exactly as expected.

Remember M.I.A.? Paper planes and guns and cash registers and such? She’s also now a 47-year-old mother of a teenager, living in L.A., a notable anti-vaxxer with other rather extreme views, and online BFFs with Grimes (another singer and current/ex/whatever girlfriend of Elon Musk). And M.I.A.’s got a new album coming out, “an album that stays pure without it being tainted by greasy grubby greedy goblin-like scientists.”

Anyways, her interview with Grimes consisted of the exact topics you’d expect from these otherworldly humans. Their opening chat, for example:

M.I.A.: I’m at a dentist in Mexico.

Grimes: Why?

M.I.A.: I’m trying out this new thing that people do in America.

Grimes: Is it the vampire teeth?

M.I.A.: No, is that a thing here?

Grimes: Yeah, my friends who live in Brazil got vampire [teeth].

It takes about 15 seconds before they’re somehow caught up in a discussion about dollar-Euro parity, East vs. West, and warmongering. I think M.I.A. supports Gaddafi at one point and believes crypto data mines are “stored on a thing under the sea somewhere or wherever we’re going to stick it in a volcano”.

Then Grimes “agrees and disagrees” on some of these statements and suggests…

“Sometimes I wonder if you sat in a room for 20 minutes and thought of how to fix Earth, you could do something like that.”

To which I screamed through my computer screen: YOUR BOYFRIEND IS BILLIONAIRE ELON MUSK.

As they discuss giving everyone in the world a cellphone as a fix for many issues, M.I.A. graciously admits…

“And also this might be way too complex for PAPER Magazine, because we’re trying to solve the world, but let’s try to do this on PAPER.”

My favorite part, which I’ll leave you with today:

M.I.A.: Maybe you’ve got to get some money off Elon [laughs].

Grimes: I’m probably going to put out one more album and then I’m going to do things that are more helpful to people.

I am screaming.

Just… read the interview yourself and have your mind warped a bit today as these fascinating women go back and forth about crypto, religion, government censorship, lobbyists, Hillary Clinton, defending MIT, etc.

The Top 3: Halloween episodes

Every year, my fiancé and I cycle through our favorite TV Halloween episodes. Some of our favorites come from The Office, Community, and Psych. But the top 3 favorites of mine?

(1) Modern Family, Season 2 Episode 6

It’s all about nostalgia for me on this pick. When it first aired in 2010, I was an eighth grader watching every episode with my parents and my brother. I always saw us as aligned with the Dunphy family and their various personality traits and neuroses. The Halloween episode really leans on the Dunphy dynamics, and I feel strongly for Claire putting all her effort into making the holiday the best one yet. (As someone born on Halloween, I also place high importance on the date.) It’s early Modern Family, filled with slightly edgier jokes and feel-good moments.

(2) It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Season 6 Episode 7

Who got Dee pregnant? Was it her brother? These are the questions we’re forced to watch play out as an Always Sunny viewer. Nothing new here in this Hangover/who-dun-it-style episode! But yeah, this is an all-time great Sunny episode, especially with all the costume changes and second-cast character story arcs. The McPoyles are there, the Waitress makes an appearance, and Artemis gets plenty of screen time too.

(3) New Girl, Season 3 Episode 6

Nope, not the episode you’re thinking of with Doctor Sam and the haunted house! This is where Nick is revealed to be Michael Keaton, who Schmidt thinks he’s been emailing with for decades. It’s a beautiful look into their deep friendship, and it’s always funny and heartwarming when all the loft roommates work together to lift each other up.

Draymond Green’s bizarre mini-doc about the Poole punch

In today’s edition of Public Figures Making Themselves the Victim, the Warriors’ Draymond Green has quickly made and released a documentary (produced with Peyton Manning’s Omaha Productions and Warner Bros. Discovery) about that video of him sucker-punching teammate Jordan Poole.

The hero of this documentary is, apparently, Draymond Green.

In the most talked-about clip from the 20-minute documentary, a clip of Draymond cuddling with his daughter plays over a monologue:
“I never really knew how much it blew up because I don’t spend much time searching through Instagram or looking at comments… I was just at home chillin’ with my children.”

All with dramatic, sympathetic music playing in the background, of course.

Draymond claims to not care about how much it blew up, even though he’s also said he watched the video 15 times and was pissed that the video—again, of him PUNCHING A TEAMMATE—leaked at all.

Yahoo Sports reports:

The documentary makers were certainly aware the video blew up, giving Green the full “hero in isolation” vibe by having the narrator call Green’s time away from the team an “exile, for lack of a better word” and depicting his solo workouts as high drama.

Gimme a break.

Whew! That’s all I’ve got for you today. Sending much love your way.

Cheers,
Casey

P.S. Don’t forget to follow the Content Consumed Instagram — I’m aiming for 200 followers by the end of October.

P.P.S. I wrote a longer piece last week about the symbolism and practicality of dimming the City of Light’s Eiffel Tower during Europe’s energy crisis. Give it a read!

--

--

Casey Noller
Content Consumed

Welcome to the dinner party. I'll let you know what everyone's talking about—and what everyone should be talking about—with my column, Content Consumed.