Content Consumed: Ice Spice and the Weekend Content Preview

Casey Noller
Content Consumed
Published in
3 min readFeb 24, 2023

Hi, hi! Happy weekend! In today’s Content Consumed, I’m going to get you into 🎧 Ice Spice and we’ll do a 🎬 Weekend Content Preview (hello, Drive to Survive!!).

Three songs that got me into Ice Spice

Ice Spice: at this point, you know her or you don’t.

So allow me to introduce her to those who don’t. The 23-year-old American rapper from the Bronx is the hottest in the world right now. I felt like I was a little late to the game when I discovered Ice in November(ish), but I’m all in now. All hail Spice.

Here are the three songs you need to listen to in order to consider yourself in the know on Ice Spice:

“In Ha Mood”
I’m wiggling in my seat just thinking about this song. Such a catchy chorus, such a bouncy drill hook. The best of Ice Spice, IMO.

“Bikini Bottom”
Yes, like Spongebob. It’s less than two minutes, and Ice spits over vibrating strings similar to the background music you’d hear in Spongebob. But it’s somehow good.

“Boy’s a liar Pt. 2”
Iconic collaboration alert! PinkPantherss’ sickly sweet voice makes me feel like a woman and Ice Spice’s rap makes me feel like a bad bitch, until the perfect end of her verse where she admits her real feelings. Get these girls to #1, damn it!

Honorable mention: “Munch (Feelin’ U)”, her first mega-viral song last year. Check out her full EP, Like..?, when you get the chance.

Weekend Content Preview

Since I’m headed abroad for my wedding on the 6th, I’m laying low for the next two weekends. Also, we might be getting a new couch tomorrow. So… lots of TV and movies ahead!

Television

First up: Drive to Survive. Season 5 just dropped and we’ll certainly be binge-ing it this weekend. More Toto vs. Christian, more internal battles about rules and politics. Lewis’ lack of success. Big wins by George Russell and other young guys. Ferrari, once again, falling apart. Max Verstappen also chose to participate again this year (unlike Season 4), so we’ll see what he has to say. It’s usually accidentally inflammatory.

Next: Abbott Elementary. I missed Wednesday night’s new episode and I know something huge happens and I need to watch it ASAP.

Of course, Love Island UK. My brain continues to rot.

We’re still working on season 2 of The Great and we’ll carry on with that.

Movies

All Quiet on the Western Front (streaming)
Babylon (streaming)
Cocaine Bear (theaters)

Books and Podcasts

I’m still reading The Lemon and it’s hovering around 3.5 stars for me.

Also, I’m in the middle of Celebrity Memoir Book Club’s Heather Gay podcast episode.

And that’s it from me on this lovely Friday! Catch you Monday. Thanks for reading.

Love,
Casey

👉🏼 Get to know the new Content Consumed schedule over here.

👉🏼 Explore more content over on the Content Consumed Instagram.

👉🏼 Find out what else I’m reading at my Goodreads profile.

--

--

Casey Noller
Content Consumed

Welcome to the dinner party. I'll let you know what everyone's talking about—and what everyone should be talking about—with my column, Content Consumed.