Content Consumed: Netflix vs. Hulu, coronation drama, and more

Casey Noller
Content Consumed
Published in
5 min readFeb 2, 2023

Good morning! The sun keeps shining in Portland, Oregon. Which is a little scary, honestly, because we need the usual winter rain to prep for the late summer fire season. Ah, climate change!

In today’s edition of Content Consumed…
🎯 Hulu might really outlast Netflix
👑 U.K. coronation drama (and it’s not just Prince Harry)
💄 Current idol: Michèle Lamy
🎬 Could The Family Stallone be a hit?

I can’t believe Hulu will outlast Netflix

Netflix, once again, befuddles its consumers with its business strategy.

Their brilliant plan: Users must log in to Netflix via their primary location’s Wi-Fi network once every 31 days.

So basically, screw you if you’re sharing an account with your family or a friend. If you’re living on the road. If you’re a college student. If you travel for work. If you’re in a long-distance relationship. There are so many scenarios where sharing an account between two homes isn’t just financially smart, but very logical.

I really liked this thread from one journalist on Twitter, explaining the assumption tech companies make “that there is a commonly understood, universal meaning of “household,” and that software can determine who is and is not a member of your household.” The ambiguities and complexities of modern human life can’t really factor in with data.

I’m not deleting my Netflix account in protest like some are. That’s because I don’t have one, because I mooch off my fiancé’s family account. We could get kicked off it soon since we live in another city—who knows! Time will tell. And Netflix could reverse this, considering the backlash.

Anyways, my favorite shows on Hulu right now, if you were wondering:

  • Abbott Elementary (yes, I know this airs on cable before Hulu, but I do not have cable, because I am 25 years old)
  • The Great (in the middle of a rewatch, it’s my fiancé’s first watch, and he loves it)
  • Love Island UK (must I explain?)
  • It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia (Hulu really hit the goldmine with this one—I know people who have Hulu primarily to rewatch Always Sunny all the time)
  • Really every FX show on the platform: The League, You’re The Worst, etc. It’s a great partnership.
  • 30 Rock. Can’t do this list without mentioning it. I know it’s on Peacock too, yes.

More royal family drama. Shocking!

Prince Charles’ coronation is coming up, and the British tabloids have much to discuss. Naturally, Harry is at the center of it all. But beyond that, The Kit reports:

  • Harry could attend. “William is a hard no, believing Harry will use the event as a “stunt,” stealing the limelight on his dad’s big day. Charles, however, is in the other camp, reportedly believing it will be more distracting if they [Harry and Meghan] aren’t there.”
  • With U.K. inflation at its highest in 40 years, Charles will make the coronation significantly less lavish than it could be. But still lavish, of course. It’s the British royal family.
  • Speaking of, there will be stolen African gems involved. “He’ll be crowned with something called “the Imperial State Crowns,” a piece of royal bling that drips with controversy, thanks to the fact that it’s set with the “Second Star of Africa” diamond. This honking gem, gifted by (or stolen from, depending on who you ask) then-British controlled South Africa.”
  • What about sex predator Prince Andrew? Will he be there—perhaps just as distracting as Prince Harry could be?
  • WILL THE SPICE GIRLS PERFORM? Not drama, just something people are talking about.

Michèle Lamy stole my heart

Dua Lipa’s weekly newsletter, Service 95, landed in my inbox this morning and gave me a new idol: Michèle Lamy.

I know, I know, she’s well known in the creative world and really old and I should’ve already known her name. Spare me.

As journalist Marie-Claire Chappet writes in Dua’s newsletter:

The septuagenarian creative has led myriad lives, each more fascinating than the last. In her native France, she was a defense lawyer in the ’60s and ’70s, before taking a turn as a cabaret dancer. She was a fashion mogul and restaurateur in LA and an icon in her own right, with her distinctive tattoos and unique style. Now, the multi-disciplinary artist, who splits her time between Paris and LA, is best known for her design work with her husband, Rick Owens, and her art, fashion, jewelery, and furniture.

Multi-talented icon!!! Creative inspiration!!!

Some of my favorite words from Michèle Lamy, via the newsletter:

My thought has always been that I never wanted to be the sort of person who is waiting for holidays or waiting for their retirement. I make sure I enjoy my work.

Preach!!!

I am very comfortable with what I am doing now, but other people would call it chaos. I guess the advice was just to follow my own path but make sure my spirit was good enough to see a blank page and say: what are we going to do here? I like the chaos.

Legend.

The Family Stallone, another reality show about a famous family

First of all, it’s on Paramount+. Which says a lot.

So, who are the Stallones, beyond Oscar-nominated Sylvester?

  • His wife, Jennifer, is the co-owner of the wellness brand Serious Skin Care and a businesswoman in other ways.
  • His oldest daughter, Sophia, currently hosts a podcast called “Unwaxed” alongside her sister Sistine, and is “still finding her path in life and focusing on her passions.”
  • His middle daughter, Sistine, is an actress and model. She’s also trying to be a “filmmaker” and is working on her first feature film right now.
  • His youngest daughter, Scarlet, is acting alongside him in Tulsa King and still in college (sort of).

Basically, this is an 8-episode series about an iconic actor and his nepo daughters. Not much more to say, honestly.

And that’s all for today! Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Casey

👉🏼 Get more content over on the Content Consumed Instagram.

👉🏼 Find out what I’m reading at my Goodreads profile.

--

--

Casey Noller
Content Consumed

Welcome to the dinner party. I'll let you know what everyone's talking about—and what everyone should be talking about—with my column, Content Consumed.