Content Consumed: Succession trailer and One Direction

Casey Noller
Content Consumed
Published in
4 min readJan 27, 2023

Howdy, howdy! Hope your Thursday is going absolutely swell. In today’s edition of Content Consumed, we’re chitchatting about…

🚨 Succession season 4 trailer just dropped
💘 Updates on the One Direction boys
🤖 BuzzFeed will use ChatGPT to create content
👀 Time to accept Emrata and Eric Andre

LFG: The Succession Season 4 trailer is live!

Mark your motherf’n calendars! It’s almost Succession season, babyyyy!

A Connor-Willa wedding? A possible Tom-Shiv divorce? A sulking Roman? A manipulative Skarsgård, perpetually unstable Kendall, still strong Logan?

We’re in for a ride.

I’m also invested in some supporting character moves, particularly Gerri and Greg. Tom could bring Greg even deeper into Logan’s inner circle, and Gerri could be romanced by Roman. But Gerri’s always been steadfast in her support of Logan — unless this is the season that Roman finally works his charm right.

One outstanding issue: we do not know if this is the last season of Succession. I hopeit’s not. I don’t know if this would change my perspective, as a viewer, watching season 4. Would it hit different?

Watch the trailer here.

A lil One Direction update

For those who don’t know me personally: I was a big One Direction fan girl in my teen years. Ran a Tumblr blog, all that. Harry Styles, obviously, still captivates me (and the rest of the world). I also think Niall’s still sweet and semi-successful, Zayn stays mysterious and not-super-musically-successful, Liam’s an idiot and I do not care for him, and I really just haven’t heard much about Louis.

But this week…

  • Niall announced a new single. I genuinely like his post-1D music! It’s kind of soft-pop-rock. Not my usual pick but he’s still got a lovely Irish singin’ voice.
  • Zayn signed with a new label. Which is probably a good move, since it feels like the last one was really bad at promoting his music. I never knew when he had new music and he has the potential to be a Harry-level star with his voice. His old record label says he was “almost impossible to control”, which is hilarious and I believe it. After all, he’s the one who left 1D early.
  • Harry has more shows. Absurdity, really. I feel like he did 300 shows last year, between all those tours and residencies.
  • Louis gave a life update. It’s a bit cringe. He’s in Mexico.
  • I once again do not care for Liam.

BuzzFeed will use ChatGPT to create content

After laying off 12% of its workforce, BuzzFeed announced it’ll be using ChatGPT to generate more content. Yeah, that AI that copywriters like myself are a tad fearful of.

In terms of generating clickbaity quizzes, sure, this makes sense. There’s not much need for human perspective in a lot of the entertainment content that BuzzFeed publishes. But ChatGPT isn’t perfect. It frequently plagiarizes and struggles to create original writing infused with human emotion.

More of the announcement, via The Verge:

[CEO] Peretti says that in 2023, BuzzFeed’s “AI inspired content” will launch on the site, “enhancing the quiz experience, informing our brainstorming, and personalizing our content for our audience.”

…Although publishers like The Associated Press have used automated tools to produce stories for nearly a decade, these have tended to be formulaic articles covering news like earnings reports and sporting results.

In related news, BuzzFeed’s stock soared after this announcement. It’s all *very* 2023… if that makes sense.

Accepting Emrata and Eric Andre

How has Eric Andre dated Rosario Dawson and now Emily Ratajkowski… what is this man’s sauce?

A Cayman Islands romantic vacay after an NYC date night has all but confirmed their status.

I don’t have much to say beyond good for him. Good for her. Good for them. Better than her fauxmance with Pete Davidson, I suppose.

And that’s it for today! Thank youuuu for reading!

Cheers,
Casey

👉🏼 Get more content over on the Content Consumed Instagram.

👉🏼 Find out what I’m reading at my Goodreads profile.

👉🏼 Did you catch my best of 2022 lists? Check out my favorite movies, TV shows, albums, and books of the year here.

--

--

Casey Noller
Content Consumed

Welcome to the dinner party. I'll let you know what everyone's talking about—and what everyone should be talking about—with my column, Content Consumed.