Content Consumed: Tommy Fury, Last of Us, Formula 1, and Casa Amor

Casey Noller
Content Consumed
Published in
5 min readFeb 27, 2023

Happy Monday! Next week will be one of the most chaotic of my life, so I’m trying to savor my sanity now. And you know how we do that, folks? With excellent television.

In today’s edition of Content Consumed:
🥊 Tommy Fury comes out on top vs. Jake Paul
🎬 The Last of Us: My least favorite episode yet
🏎 What the first episode of Drive to Survive showed us
🏝 Make Casa Amor hotter, please

Yeah, I watched Fury vs. Paul yesterday

It happened: pro boxer/Love Island star/Molly Mae’s boyfriend Tommy Fury beat pro boxer/Bizaardvark star/former YouTuber Jake Paul in Saudi Arabia yesterday, in a much-hyped fight that finally happened.

Listen. I don’t know how boxing works. Not the scoring, not the rules, nothin’. So I went into this blind. And you know what? It was entertaining!

Sure, it felt icky at points. “The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia” was ceaselessly shouted out by the commentators and the fighters. I personally disagree with Jake Paul on just about every subject on this planet. Tommy’s outfit was absurd, with his (controversial) daughter’s name BAMBI plastered everywhere and his GF’s brand Filter by Molly Mae on every article of clothing.

But it was still fun. I enjoyed watching—admittedly, turned it on after the 3rd round when I finally found a decent illegal stream. (I’m not paying money to watch, are you kidding me?) And I’m glad Tommy won, if only because Jake Paul would’ve become a million times more annoying if he took home the prize belt (is that what that’s called?).

Also, Drake lost $400,000 on the fight with his bet (his main gig right now is apparently hawking crypto and betting apps), so that’s worth celebrating too.

‘The Last of Us’ didn’t do it for me last night

And I can’t tell if it’s just because I’m a Bella Ramsey hater.

First, a note on dialogue. It wasn’t good. I can’t tell if this is (a) straight from the videogame, (b) bad and clichéd writing, or (c) truly how teen girls talk. Maybe I’m behind on the times.

Why I didn’t like this episode: it was incredibly drawn out to a very unnecessary extent. This episode could’ve been fifteen minutes and just as—if not more—effective in its storytelling.

I didn’t need to be on edge for the entire mall scene in a way that wasn’t fun. Because you know what’s going to happen. We’ve heard the backstory from Ellie herself. I understand that bits of this are important for character development and for placing us in the world Ellie occupies, but it became boring.

The masks could best exemplify this. You know, the creepy clown mask and the werewolf mask that Ellie and Riley wear while they dance. They don’t wear masks in the dance scene in the Last of Us video game, and you know why? Because they didn’t need to. We’re already on edge. This overdoes it.

I’m happy for more Ellie backstory. I am. Cute little smooch, lovely friendship (or more! Ellie will never know…). We had to get an Ellie episode at some point, and now we have, and now we can get back into the action as we creep toward the end of season one.

‘Drive to Survive’, Season 5 Episode 1

If Kevin Magnussen has a million fans, then I’m one of them.
If Kevin Magnussen has one fan, then I’m that one.
If Kevin Magnussen has no fans, that means I’m dead.

Part of that is because his “suck my balls, mate” chirp at Nico Hulkenberg remains legendary. Part of that is because he and his family are too freakin’ cute. Part of that is because he replaced Russian racer / rich boy Nikita Mazepin.

Anyways, I enjoyed the Guenther/Mattia buddy road trip montage, the Haas focus, and the general introduction episode to this season of Formula 1 / Drive to Survive. We also watched episode 2 this weekend, where I, unfortunately, agreed with Christian Horner (never fun) when he told Toto Wolff and Mercedes to just fix their car instead of making porpoising everyone else’s problem.

Hopefully, I’ll watch the whole season this week and update you with my overall thoughts on Friday.

These people are supposed to make Islanders turn their heads…?

Casa Amor is back, baby.

And honestly… the lineup isn’t that impressive from the tiny snippets we’ve seen.

The boys’ tattoos are the worst part, I think. Atrocious. Example #1 is the tree on Martin’s chest, which looks like weird chest hair pasted on with Ehlmer’s glue. Bayley’s gorilla vs. panther situation on his pecs is equally, if not more, offensive. And you’re telling me that the girls are supposed to be into these guys? That they’re going to break out of their couples for these guys?

Here are the Casa boys, for reference. And here are the girls (also not as bombshell-y and hot as expected).

Okay, I hope at least Tanya and Shaq break it off because Tanya has become a SNAKE like none other and Shaq needs to escape.

And that’s it for this lovely Monday! Catch you tomorrow. Be sure to subscribe to this column by following me on Medium to get Content Consumed every weekday.

Cheers,
Casey

👉🏼 Get to know the new Content Consumed schedule over here.

👉🏼 Explore more content over on the Content Consumed Instagram.

👉🏼 Find out what else I’m reading at my Goodreads profile.

--

--

Casey Noller
Content Consumed

Welcome to the dinner party. I'll let you know what everyone's talking about—and what everyone should be talking about—with my column, Content Consumed.