Content Consumed: May 18

Casey Noller
Content Consumed
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2022

If this is a daily diary that no one besides me reads, cool. If not, hey! Welcome.

Here’s the content I’m consuming today.

  • Some Millennials and Gen Z have hit an ‘apocalyptic’ phase in which they don’t see the point in saving for the future (Insider). This sums up a lot of conversations I’ve been having with family and friends lately: what’s the point of saving up if the usual things worth saving up for (houses, retirement, children) seem so far out of financial reach? The existential dread of climate change and the rising costs of having children are two especially hot topics with such a generational gap in mindset.
  • UFOs and the U.S. Congress… (Buzzfeed News). Do you care about UFOs, beyond the ~pop culture~ of it all? Maybe this is truly the nihilist in me speaking but… just seems like one more apocalyptic option! My favorite line from this story: “And they did their damndest to not talk about aliens.”
  • Kendrick Lamar, Mortal Icon (New York Times). Mr. Morale & the Big Steppers had me sobbing at the gym yesterday. It lived up to the hype (in my personal opinion, which is apparently not the same as this NYT reviewer’s opinion) and I’m psyched to buy presale tickets tomorrow morning for Kendrick’s tour. “We Cry Together” is an especially groundbreaking piece that I can’t stop listening to and reflecting on. If the album didn’t live up to the hype for you, find similar convictions in this NYT review.
  • Strasbourg, via Scott’s Cheap Flights. I’m a Scott’s fanatic. No, I’ve never actually booked a cheap flight through them, but I sure get excited when I get an email with a ridiculous deal ($500 from Portland to Tokyo?!). What I’m loving these days is their editorial content, like this feature on Strasbourg, France. As I plan a trip to France with my mom and grandmother for my 25th this fall, I’m seeking out a spot for a solo mini writing retreat — and Strasbourg seems like the place.
  • Money Diaries (Refinery 29). I’m three years into the workforce now and I’m really starting to pay attention to budgeting, investing, and my own spending habits. Which is why I’ve become obsessed with Refinery 29’s Money Diaries, where women submit a week in their lives with all their financial background and habits included. This week’s diary follows a 26-year-old government analyst with a hefty Vanguard account and a side gig teaching yoga.
  • “Welcome to New York. It’s been waiting for you” (Rolling Stone). Yep, that was part of Taylor Swift’s New York University commencement ceremony speech from Yankee Stadium this morning. Cringe if you want, cheer if you want.

That’s all! Have a good Wednesday, y’all.

Please note: I do indeed read the news. But you don’t want me linking to stories about Ukraine, Buffalo, COVID, etc. here. Find that at your regular news outlets. Cheers!

--

--

Casey Noller
Content Consumed

Welcome to the dinner party. I'll let you know what everyone's talking about—and what everyone should be talking about—with my column, Content Consumed.