Equality

Leena
Continuous Delivery
2 min readMar 13, 2020
https://pixabay.com/photos/equal-lgbt-equality-pride-rights-2495950/

Happy women’s day ❣👍🙏🌹

I received similar messages over the previous weekend as direct messages from friends over Twitter or WhatsApp or as part of WhatsApp groups. I appreciate the sender’s intention. But I am unhappy when I receive the message.

An equal world is an enabled world. How will you help forge a gender equal world?
Celebrate women’s achievement. Raise awareness against bias. Take action for equality.

~ https://www.internationalwomensday.com/

Women’s day intends to bring equality. And it is not sufficient that we think about equality on March 8th every year. Instead, it should be practised every day. It is not just women’s right. We need to think about non-binary people, people with different caste, religion. Are we considering everyone equal?

In this episode, T M Krishna mentions what he practised over the years. When TMK finds that something is not right, instead of feeling depressed, frustrated with that, he trained him to start asking “what am I doing in a similar situation”? It is easy to find faults in others, but we don’t train to find flaws in us.

So, I started thinking about how well I practice equality. There is a lot of scope for improvement. I show my “power” to my daughters at times — am the mother, better to listen to me. Similar mindset comes at work and social interactions too. I need to accept that and work on those. One influences others on things you practice well.

I thank my parents, my husband and family members, my great friends and colleagues for the encouragement they have shown to me. I also thank my attitude “I don’t care how others behave, I will do what I think is right”. That attitude has a significant role in my growth. I also understand that there are a lot of people who are not as lucky as I am.

Originally published at Tinyletter

--

--

Leena
Continuous Delivery

Co-founder/CTO @ PracticeNow, Bangalore, India. A strong believer of lean principles, an evangelist and practitioner of Continuous delivery