My Problem with Partial Facial Paralysis /3

Day Three: Or, Sunday Floody Sunday

Andrew Jonasson
Conversations For A Bar.
2 min readNov 11, 2014

--

Things are difficult. Drinking dribbles. Thinking triples — I’ve got to consider swallowing, and blinking. Blinking just doesn’t happen. The right side of my face has no movement. No motion. No wrinkles. I used to be able to make my eyebrows do the wave. If I lose that I won’t be happy.

Left side is wrinkly-wrinkly Right side is baby-smooth.

I can’t even smile. Everyone thinks I’m sneering at them all the time. People think I’m being cheeky or inquisitive. Or maybe they’re thinking, “This guy’s got Bell’s Palsy.”

Lower those eyebrows!

Sunday Floody Sunday. My eye leaked some more. And I’m now helping it. With eye drops. I woke up and unbandaged my eye, had some breakfast with 12 five-miligram steroid pills. These will help myself repair myself. 12 little tiny pills, taken one after another. Then two big blue pills to wash it all down.

After moving my girlfriend into her new place it was time to couch-out and take in some football. It was, after all, Sunday. All snacking was done with the left side of my mouth.

Gravol ensured an easy sleep. And a needed, lengthy one.

--

--