My Problem with Partial Facial Paralysis /5

Day Five: Or, A Potential Halfway Point

Andrew Jonasson
Conversations For A Bar.
2 min readNov 12, 2014

--

Marked improvement; slight wrinkling on right side. Still looks awesomely awkward.

Not expecting this to be done in ten days. That’s just “best case scenario”. I expect the full 14–21 days. To weakly whistle for two weeks. To spill down my front for a fortnight. To have no control of the muscles on the right side of my face for a little while longer.

Today is no different. All the parts that didn’t work yesterday have not worked today. It is still frustrating.

Noticed conversation is more difficult. Some words are slowed, some tripped over. Talking while eating is out of the question. Drinking out of straws isn’t as easy as I thought.

Think I’ll try a smoothie tomorrow.

Doctor appointment. Called when I woke up. Not first thing.

Awoke at 7a.m again. Peed. Back to bed. Aaah. Sleep with eye taped shut. Sounds creepy. Is necessary.

10:00a.m. Called for appointment. Only one available this week is today. 7:45.

Fast forward: on a bus across town to see doctor. Doctor said it’s good we caught it early. It’s good I’m on the ‘roids and anti-virals. It’s good I tape it shut. She’s reading it off WebMD. She wants to see me again in two weeks. Easiest second date ever: have something wrong with you.

As long as it gets better.

As long as it gets better.

--

--