To be, or not to be…. a freelancer?

Kyle Sergeant
Conversations For A Bar.
2 min readMar 9, 2014

--

I’ve made cold calls to sell pre-paid funerals and all types of insurance. I’ve co-founded a native advertising focused startup where I looked after gamification, business development, and marketing. I’ve pitched in front of over 100 people and won a Startup Weekend Event. And I’m a Student of Advertising.

So how do I turn this into becoming a freelancer?

It’s a question I posed to myself over a month ago. Not because I hate working in an office. Not because I prefer making my own hours. Not because I want to have the “freelancer” moniker handy to use at cocktail parties. I want to become a freelancer because it feels like it’s the logical next step in my career — which has been anything but well-planned.

I understand the answer to my question isn’t simple. So to try and help, I’ve broken it up a little more:

1. How do I charge for my specialty?

I’m not a designer. I don’t code. And I’m not a number cruncher. I’m a planner, strategist, and storyteller. I know I have value. But how do I figure out what that value is?

2. How do I earn clients?

I say earn because I believe that’s what you have to do to create any successful business: Earn clientele by being truthful, reliable, and hard working. I’m ready to do that. But where do I go looking?

3. Should I keep my current job?

Where I am now can’t afford to pay me for 40 hours worth of work each week. So am I basically just freelancing for them anyway, right?

4. What sort of potential clients should I focus on?

I have experience in the Startup World. Should I start there? My worry is I’ll hear a lot of “We can offer you a percentage once things pick up” instead of “Would you prefer bi-weekly or monthly payments?”

5. Where should I be promoting myself?

The fact I’m writing this on Medium says I want to stay on Medium. But where else should I promote myself? And how? I’m obsessed with Twitter and Tumblr. Is that enough?

So that’s it. I have more questions but that would make this a longer read than it needs to be. I feel I’ve described the obvious: I need advice.

Thanks for reading! I’m Kyle. I’m a Brand Strategist, Student of Advertising, and Idea Lover. Would appreciate it if you connected with me here. Or started a conversation with me here.

--

--

Kyle Sergeant
Conversations For A Bar.

“Experience & Apply” is my motto. Canadian. Reader. Writer. Analyzer. Strategist @Neo_Ogilvy http://storyandplanning.com