“I’m terrified of being homeless. I don’t wanna be another homeless veteran, because there are a lot of us out on the streets. Too many.”

SEIU Local 2015
Conversations on Long Term Care
3 min readFeb 28, 2022

Anthony Wafer is an army veteran, trained paralegal, and an in-home caregiver to his older sister, Ava, who lives with back and knee pain. The two are close, and have been since they were children, so taking of Ava came naturally to Anthony.

“This is my older sister who practically raised me as a kid, so when I saw her struggling so much in her older years, I knew I had to help. It’s not something she wants, even though she’s grateful, but she needs a caregiver in order to live independently.”

Anthony’s life has always been centered on service.

“In today’s society, we have a lack of care and concern for others. I like to push back against that.”

Like his father, Anthony’s life of service began when he joined the military in 1986. Anthony was proud to carry on his father’s legacy. After the army, Anthony got married, had three kids, and is now a proud grandfather.

Army veteran, grandad, caregiver Anthony Wafer.

“I’m a family man, first and foremost. Always been that way. I grew up seeing my dad serve in the army with pride, and was taken care of by my sister, so I know the value of being cared for.”

Anthony and his sister live in Woodland Hills. Anthony wakes up at 5:30 a.m. to get himself ready for the day, and then drives over to his sister’s house, where he makes breakfast while his sister dresses and prepares herself for the day. After breakfast, Anthony usually does errands with his sister: doctor’s appointments, grocery shopping, bank runs, and anything else she may need. Often after errands are done, Anthony helps Ava pay her bills and get her finances in order. He’s good at it and Ava trusts him.

By 4 p.m., after putting in an 8-hour day with his sister, Anthony is at his second job at the Veteran’s Hospital in West L.A.

“I work as a housekeeper at the hospital. I like getting to see and interact with a lot of the vets there. But as much as I like it, I wish I didn’t need a second job. I can’t pay all of my bills on the $15 an hour that IHSS gives me. I’m terrified of being homeless. I don’t wanna be another homeless veteran, because there are a lot of us out on the streets. Too many.”

Anthony always has the community in mind, and dreams of someday becoming either a guidance counselor, drug counselor, or motivational speaker for the disadvantaged — skills he’s already using.

“I had to help Ava through depression when my niece — Ava’s daughter — got into some trouble and lost custody of her son. Losing access to her grandson broke my sister’s heart. Patience and tenacity are things I’m known for. During the custody battle, I had to give Ava emotional support. I also had some paralegal training, which helped me explain to Ava what was going on.”

Ava was deeply depressed and Anthony tried to help her stop blaming herself. Other family members didn’t help, often shaking their heads at the situation, instead of offering support or advice. Anthony carefully coaxed Ava out of feeling like what had happened to her daughter was her fault. Much of it, Anthony believes, stemmed from systemic racism that targets Black folks. Eventually, Anthony helped Ava get custody of her little grandson.

Even with a second job, adequate housing is out of reach.

Anthony dreams of getting out of his studio apartment into one that actually has a bedroom. He’s been looking for a while and hasn’t been able to find anything he can afford, even with his second job. And now rental prices in L.A. are skyrocketing.

That’s why Anthony and other IHSS providers in L.A. County are speaking out and supporting their Union’s Time for $20 campaign to establish a living wage floor in the industry. Learn more at https://www.seiu2015.org/timefor20/.

--

--

SEIU Local 2015
Conversations on Long Term Care

The largest long term care workers union in the U.S. We represent over 370K home care & nursing home workers in CA. www.seiu2015.org