“We simply can’t survive. I have to work at McDonald’s,” says in-home care provider.

SEIU Local 2015
Conversations on Long Term Care
4 min readNov 19, 2021

Tanya’s son has Cerebral Palsy and Tanya stayed home to care for him while her husband provided the paycheck. The family was never able to get in-home supportive services (IHSS) coverage for him, despite his disabilities and despite multiple attempts.

But then nearly three years ago, Tanya’s husband fell ill to liver problems and she became his primary caregiver, too.

“I dress him, make sure doesn’t fall, give him his medicine,” says Tanya. “I help him understand more about his diagnosis, take him to his medical appointments, get his medications.”

When Tanya’s husband was first diagnosed, it was a tough few first months. She had to quickly become the breadwinner. But once they got that first IHSS paycheck, they quickly realized that the low pay and limited hours meant it wouldn’t support them. For Tanya, family is everything. And now she had two loved ones needing her care nearly full time. It was impossible to survive on IHSS pay. So Tanya had to get a local fast food job.

“I want to be home caring for my husband and my son. They really need me. But we simply can’t survive. I have to work the night shift until midnight, typically five days a week at McDonald’s.”

Tanya, 2nd from right, with her family.

Tanya’s schedule is nonstop, yet she always finds ways to make sure that her husband and children are cared for, no matter what else she has going on in the day. Tanya has, rather impressively, found a way to balance her home/life duties, and takes great pride in knowing that she can juggle it all.

“I have really good organizational skills. Every day is different. I have at least two calendars. I like things written down. I have a wall calendar at home for my family to see and a pocket calendar that I keep in my bag. I have to remember all their appointments and needs and fit it into my McDonald’s schedule. I also memorize the layout of any hospital we visit, making future visits easier. And I notice every little change and clue that help me take care of them. Twice this last year I saw something wasn’t right and got my husband to the hospital. They ordered an endoscopy and it saved his life.”

Tanya had other dreams…then life happened.

Tanya and her husband met in college. She earned two associates’ degrees: one in graphic design and the other in criminology.

“Growing up, I wanted to be a forensic scientist, then a graphic designer, and then back to scientist. Now, I’m more about the safety and wellbeing of my family and myself.”

A typical day for Tanya begins with her waking up, making her family breakfast, and getting the kids to school fed and on-time. She then spends the rest of her day caring for her husband, running errands, and prepping for the night shift at McDonald’s. Tanya works from 7:00 p.m. to midnight — long hours spent working as a crew member, which means that, all in one night, her job can range from overseeing the grill to taking orders from evening customers.

“We’re always short-staffed or busy, so it’s non-stop the whole shift.”

Tanya pushes forward, knowing she has a family to provide for and work to get done.

Tanya and her husband also dream of owning a home. Currently, as a way to save money and ensure stability for her kids, the family lives with her parents. Her sister also lives there, along with her own children, making it a tight squeeze. There’s one bathroom for all eight of them to share in the small house. Before moving in with her parents, Tanya and her husband tried to buy a house. But the bank denied them because Tanya briefly needed public assistance to pay the bills after she injured her foot.

“We’re a close-knit family and I’m grateful, but it’s affecting my family’s mental health and it’s very challenging to deal with how crowded we all are, along with everything else going on.”

Despite working two jobs — making $15 an hour at both — Tanya still struggles to make ends meet. A huge worry for Tanya is adequate health insurance for her husband and son. Her son has required multiple surgeries and her husband has new complications.

“With my husband’s recent diagnosis of hepatic encephalopathy, I worry even more. It adds stress, trying to make ends meet. It affects my health, physically and mentally.”

Tanya has hope for the future…

— especially for her kids. That’s why she works so hard. She envisions bright futures for them.

“Honestly, I want them to succeed in life, and take what little I can teach them, and grow to be whatever they want to be. The sky is not the limit for them. They can go beyond that.”

Tanya is speaking out and supporting her Union’s Time for $20 campaign to establish a living wage floor in the industry. Learn more at https://www.seiu2015.org/timefor20/.

--

--

SEIU Local 2015
Conversations on Long Term Care

The largest long term care workers union in the U.S. We represent over 370K home care & nursing home workers in CA. www.seiu2015.org