Author Interview with Jamie Adams

Kara Skinner
Conversations with Authors
3 min readJun 14, 2020

Today’s interview is with Jamie Adams, part-time teacher and indie writer.

LQ: Tell me a little bit about yourself.
JA: I am a part-time teacher and have also worked in retail management in the past. I studied a degree in geography twenty years ago and still have a keen interest in glaciers, rivers, and the environment. My hobbies include trying hard to keep fit, reading lots and taking any chance I get to see live theatre, comedy and watch movies.

LQ: What does your writing process look like?
JA: I rarely plan my writing to start with, although partway through I usually begin to map out characters or track through to make sure I haven’t missed a connection or left anyone out later on in the story. I tend to just let my head write five or six chapters before trying to work out where my narrative is leading. It is fairly organic.

LQ: What was your favorite book to write so far?
JA: I wrote a novella about three guys and their families, called The Fathers, the Sons and the Anxious Ghost and it changed course halfway through. I loved the time I spent writing this drama and the mental health aspect was intriguing to put down in words. The characters really develop as the story unfolds and by the end of it, I felt that everything makes sense and I have managed to join up the dots.

LQ: Who is your favorite character to write about?
JA: My characters are all somewhat interesting, in my view. I would not waste time on a character that wasn’t going to engage me. However, I wrote a short story once about a guy who was rushing to University on a snowy day and fell in love with someone on the way. It is hard to summarise without giving away the plot. I felt like he was possibly the character I could identify strongest with, up to now.

LQ: Who are your favorite authors? Have any of them influenced your work?
JA: Joanne Harris is by far my favourite writer now and I was addicted to Roald Dahl stories as a child. I still enjoy reading his books out loud. Joanne remains an inspiration to me and I am always reading two of her books, dipping in and out of them when I can.

LQ: How are you doing during the current pandemic?
JA: During the lockdown, I have been put on a work rota, which is strange. When I do work I have to teach the kids of key workers and it is wonderful to get out of the house on those days. The rest of the time I am trying to do workouts at home, read plenty, and enjoy Netflix dramas.

LQ: What are you currently working on?
JA: My first proper novel is currently at the editing stage and I am leaving it for a few weeks before going back over it to see whether or not I still want to make any final changes. As of last week, I began work on a new novel that has a crime spin on it. It will still be a drama but there will be some darker elements within this particular story. Again, I don’t know exactly where the characters will end up.

LQ: Anything else you would like to share?
JA: My favourite pastime is engaging with the writing community, going to literary festivals, and expanding my knowledge of this wonderful way of life.

--

--

Kara Skinner
Conversations with Authors

A book reviewer finding people their next favorite book while also making the world a better place. Like me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/loversquarrel