Author Interview with Samantha David

Kara Skinner
Conversations with Authors
3 min readJun 14, 2020
I Married a Pirate by Samantha David

Today’s interview is with Samantha David, licensed airplane pilot and writer.

LQ: What’s it like, flying a plane?
SD: Flying planes is relaxing because you can’t afford to think of anything except the plane. Even in the least demanding phases (flying straight and level on your way somewhere) you need to keep an eye on the instrument panel, the gauges, the fuel. You need to remain at a constant altitude, not be blown off course, aware of what’s happening on the radio, and of course you mustn’t crash into anyone else! So there’s no time to think about things you haven’t done, or bills you have to pay. It’s a complete holiday from real life.

And in the more exciting phases of flight, playing with clouds for example, it’s exciting, it’s fun. Not all mistakes are fatal, but a fatal mistake is always a possibility. I’m not insane so don’t take mad risks, but the sensations you get when swooping, climbing, diving and turning are exhilarating. Even after I land, I’m often as high as a kite for hours afterwards.

LQ: What does your writing process look like?
SD: I write almost the whole novel in my head, which can take months or even years, and then I start plotting on paper, meticulously setting out the action chapter by chapter. I write descriptions and backstories for all the speaking characters and also write a diary for the book, so there’s a really solid scaffolding. At this point, I’m looking at writing the first and last paragraphs, so I know where the book starts, what I want to say in it, and where I’m going.

Only then do I start writing, and I like to clear 2–3 weeks for intense writing, so I can complete a first draft in under a month. After that, I’m exhausted and often won’t look at the book for a couple of months. And then comes the arduous business of editing and polishing. I usually do at least 6 drafts until I let an editor start work…

LQ: What was your favorite book to write so far?

SD: I love them all. They are like my children and I couldn’t possibly choose between them!

LQ: Who is your favorite character to write about?

SD: The characters in whatever book I’m currently writing… they become very real to me, so I love writing about them.

LQ: Who are your favorite authors? Have any of them influenced your work?

SD: My favourite authors are Stella Gibbons, Margaret Kennedy, and Nancy Mitford. All of them are witty, subversive and insightful.

LQ: How are you doing during the current pandemic?

SD: I began lockdown by anxiously consuming 2 packets of hot crossed buns and a large number of cosmopolitans until I realised that this time is a fantastic opportunity for a writer and got down to work.

LQ: What are you currently working on?

SD: It’s a new novel about a wild French cowgirl and the British celebrity chef who moves into the chateau next door. It’s making me laugh a lot which is always a good sign!

LQ: Anything else you would like to share?
GUARANTEED GOOD READS

My books are perfect escapist reads, ideal lockdown reading. I love them so much that I guarantee readers will love them too. If any reader doesn’t love one of my books, all they have to do is message me on Facebook, and I will refund their money. How’s that for a promise? And it is a solemn promise, although I’ve never had to refund anyone yet!

--

--

Kara Skinner
Conversations with Authors

A book reviewer finding people their next favorite book while also making the world a better place. Like me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/loversquarrel