Indie Author Interview with Elouise East

Kara Skinner
Conversations with Authors
3 min readMay 8, 2020
Deep Down by Elouise East

Today’s interview is with author Elouise East.

LQ: Tell me a little bit about yourself.
EE: I am a single mum to two children. I live in a town in Leicestershire, UK. Reading has been a passion of mine since I learned to read and my writing started when I was a teenager. I didn’t share any of my work until I decided to self-publish last year. I published my first gay romance in July 2019. I haven’t looked back and I love the camaraderie I found through the whole writing community.

LQ: What does your writing process look like?
EE: Usually, I am a pantser. I get an idea of a story or topic then begin to write. Sometimes what I first write ends up being the beginning of the book, sometimes somewhere in the middle, but the words just flow. For my latest book, I added in some extra planning to it because it was a topic I wanted to do justice. I still wrote largely off the cuff but it helped to have an idea of what i needed to work through.

LQ: What was your favorite book to write so far?
EE: My latest one, Deep Down. It is in the final stages of editing now so will hopefully be released in a few weeks. The subject is male domestic abuse and, although it was emotionally draining to write, I believe it has been my best work so far.

LQ: Who is your favorite character to write about?
EE: I love writing guys who are funny, sarcastic, loving, family orientated and caring. There is so much more to a person than what they show on the outside, and I don’t just mean looks. Everyone hides a bit of who they are and I love to be able to show their emotions to the readers, to let them into the scene and really feel it.

LQ: Who are your favorite authors? Have any of them influenced your work?
EE: CJ Bishop is a favourite author without doubt, the first to make me believe I could do the writing world justice. I love books by Christine Feehan and JR Ward, who has given me advice in the past. GR Lyons has been a recent addition to my one-click list. They all influence my work in a way because when I read, I look at how they word things or describe things and it helps me to understand the written word better.

LQ: How are you doing during the current pandemic?
EE: I’m doing fine. This, for me, is how I’d happily live on a normal basis if I didn’t have to go out to work. I’m very introverted and shy and wouldn’t say boo to a goose IRL.

LQ: What are you currently working on?
EE: I’m finishing off my final edits of Deep Down and have, as a change, planned a little of the next book. Again it’s a difficult topic about sexual harassment and abuse in the workplace. I feel these subjects are underrepresented in books at present.

LQ: Anything else you would like to share?
EE: Readers can find me on social platforms like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and also on my website. If you sign up to my newsletter, you get a free short story and access to an exclusive story being released to subscribers one chapter per month.

--

--

Kara Skinner
Conversations with Authors

A book reviewer finding people their next favorite book while also making the world a better place. Like me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/loversquarrel