Black Women Moguls launches Virtual Event — The Mogul Code Summit

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
4 min readDec 5, 2020

--

Meet Founder of Black Women Moguls, Averri Simone. She is a Brand Strategist and Social Media Advisor, Averri Simone has assisted non-profits, small businesses, and personal brands with their revenue, social media, and website strategy. Her expertise helps business owners to convert followers into paying customers and she also teaches clients how to manage their business from their phone. I had the opportunity to catch up with her and chat about her event The Mogul Code Summit. Check out what Mogul means to her and why you should register for The Mogul Code Summit.

What inspired you to create Black Women Moguls?

After I realized that 70 percent of my audience in my original platform Black Business Connect, were women, I wanted to curate a program specifically for us. Additionally, I felt a need to address the disparity of revenue that businesses owned by Black women experience. As of 2018, 47 percent of women-owned businesses are owned by black women, according to American Express. Yet, we only make $24,700 compared to $143,100 among all women-owned businesses. That’s how the idea of Black Women Moguls was born.

Through Black Women Moguls, I help women business owners increase their visibility and connections to grow their sales and build a profitable business. We accomplish this mission by teaching branding and essential business skills through courses, events, and exposure opportunities. I want to change the way we see ourselves and step into our inner mogul.

What can an attendee expect from The Mogul Code Summit?

There is so much in store for this year’s summit. While the summit has always been virtual, we wanted to make it more interactive this year. We are excited to introduce our first virtual vendor expo, face-to-face video chat networking, and a pitch competition. And I hear there will be giveaways throughout the summit.

Why should someone register for The Mogul Code Summit?

When I started my business, I attended conferences that left me with a “temporary feeling” of motivation instead of teaching the business skills I desired. Just like me, I found that many women are seeking tangible strategies that would enhance their brand. The Mogul Code Summit is for the woman entrepreneur who is ready to position their business for increased profit but needs the right strategy. Each speaker is hand-picked to deliver results-driven information to teach attendees how to scale their business.

What advice would you share to encourage an entrepreneur to keep going?

I am a firm believer that everything we need to succeed is already inside of us. All that is required is to find it within ourselves. We can achieve whatever we put our minds to do. Often, we are the ones who stand in our own way because of fear and doubt. However, we cannot let our reservations or others’ doubts keep us from stepping into our purpose.

When I let personal battles dictate my self-worth, I felt like success was not within reach and thought about quitting. Because of my mindset, I had tunnel vision. Therefore, I could not see what I was capable of achieving. But thankfully, I cleared the blockage with tools like podcasts, books, and my support system.

Many women experience private struggles, whether it is past trauma, sickness, or having to juggle life in general. But, investing in yourself and having someone in your corner is crucial to your success. You don’t have to go through it alone. Keep affirming your worth until you start to see it for yourself. You matter. You can achieve it. You are worthy of success.

What does Mogul mean to you?

The definition of a “mogul” is someone at the top of their game, dominating in their respective lane. The keyword is in their respective lane. Moguls are not afraid to take risks and put in the work needed to get things done. Yes, they may make mistakes along the way or experience self-doubt. However, what sets moguls a part is learning how to turn these “mistakes” and transform them into lessons. Every mogul had to start somewhere, but it is their determination to see things through no matter how hard it may have gotten.

Register today at https://www.themogulcodesummit.com/

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur