Comedian NeeBaby brings Awareness to Mental Health with Laughter

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
4 min readFeb 5, 2021

I want my legacy to speak to strength. We all have the strength and talent needed to make it, we just need to tap into it. — Canecia “NeeBaby” Boyd

Meet Comedian, Influencer, Mental Health Advocate and Breast Cancer Survivor, Canecia “NeeBaby” Boyd. Diagnosed with Breast Cancer and as a way to deal with the emotional pain she took to TikTok and began sharing her raw and unfiltered Comedy with the world. Six months later, the industry she had been a part of for six years finally took notice of her talents and she quickly became a TikTok sensation, Brand Influencer and recognized comedian holding on to 555K+ supporters and 12M+ Likes and growing. NeeBaby has taken the taboo topic of mental health and suicide and made it acceptable to explore. Using her real life struggles with Bipolar Disorder to fuel her voice, she is on a mission to normalize this very much needed conversation, inspire the LGBTQ community one smile at a time and normalize the true beauty one carries within. NeeBaby also uses her platform to highlight controversial topics that impact all members of the LGBTQ community. Her focus is on ensuring that women take all measures to get tested and get preventive care for breast cancer. This is something that most masculine identified women within the LGBTQ don’t highlight (for various reasons). She has taken the pain that she has encountered and turned it into a success story and movement.

I chat with Neebaby via Q&A about her journey below:

Now if we can, I’d like to go way back for a little while. Where did you grow up?

I was born in Nuremberg, Germany and raised in Shreveport, LA. I recently moved to the DMV area from Auburn, NY.

What inspired your entrepreneurial journey ?

I’ve been in the Comedy Industry for six years now but it wasn’t until my victory over breast cancer in 2020 that I decided to leave my 9–5 and become my own boss. I jumped head first into my comedy and before I knew it the entrepreneurial endeavors just started coming.

Tell me about what problem your business solves?

My BRAND as a whole speaks to the need for transparency in the Black and LGBTQ communities. When my supporters look at me they see survival and what’s cool about that is that I look just like them so they relate and they gain a sense of freedom.

What have you felt you have failed at? What might you have done to prevent those failures?

Allowing love into my life, but that’s a different interview, lmao.

What kind of impact do you want to leave on your audience?

I want my legacy to speak to strength. We all have the strength and talent needed to make it, we just need to tap into it.

What hurdles did you personally face and how did you overcome them?

I suffer from bipolar disorder and there are days when the roommates in my head try to get the best of me. Every day that I get up, I choose to live and that right there is what it’s all about.

Do you feel your talent mets the needs of the market at the time of conception? Does it still?

Yes, who doesn’t want to laugh and look good doing it. With me, it’s the message behind the brand. People will always need to be reminded to “Live In Your Truth”.

When did you realize entrepreneurship was right for you?

When my ancestors told me that it was time to live on purpose.

Why did you choose entrepreneurship?

Entrepreneurship choose me. I’m too creative to work for anyone but myself.

What advice do you have for entrepreneurs and small business owners who may not be achieving their goals?

Don’t forget to reevaluate often. Sometimes we forget why we started and that can be the cause of us not making it to the finish line.

What would you say is your most driving motivation to keep doing what you to do?

My family and my GWC family.

What are you most excited or passionate about? (In both business and life or both)

Making people smile and helping them realize that they serve a purpose in this world.

What are the goals you most want to accomplish in your business? What are the goals that you hold personally?

A full sponsorship with Hanes Brand

Did you have any key mentors or people who deeply influenced who you are, what you believe in and what you’re committed to in your work and life? Tell me about them.

My sister is my Chakra “she laughs whenever you say that”. Everything I do is with her and my mom in mind. My GWC brothers and sisters also play a huge role in my ability to keep moving.

Did you have any life-changing experiences that put you on the path that led you to be doing what you’re doing today? Tell me about them.

My battle with breast cancer.

What’s next for you in your business/brand? What can readers look forward to from you?

We taking over the world, lmao. No seriously there are no limits so just look out for us.

Find out more about Neebaby via her website and follow her on Instagram | TikTok | Facebook | Double S S Apparel

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur