Meet CEO & Founder, Christina Hampton

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
7 min readJul 15, 2024

“Jesus is concerned with anything that is concerning me”Christina Hampton

Christina Hampton

Christina Hampton is a devoted Christian and accomplished entrepreneur. She is a resident in counseling under the supervision of a licensed professional counselor and serves as a Christian counselor. Alongside her husband, she leads the Marriage and Addiction ministry, providing support and guidance to couples in need. Christina also holds the roles of Vice President and Assistant Director over Mental Health and Planning for Yet Stand Inc. Her academic credentials include a Bachelor of Arts in Biblical and Theological Studies and dual Master of Science degrees in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling. As the CEO and founder of A Different Cloth Event Staffing, New Dawn Christian Counseling, and Unshakeable Saturday Brunch, Christina demonstrates her entrepreneurial spirit and commitment to service. A devoted wife, stepmom of three, and dog mom, Christina is passionate about giving back to her community. She focuses on uplifting women who have survived domestic violence, sexual assault, and other challenges. Christina attributes all her successes and blessings to the goodness of God, living her faith through her work and dedication to helping others.

Now if we can, I’d like to go way back for a little while. Where did you grow up?

I was born in Jackson, Mississippi, and lived there for the first eleven years of my life. In 1991, I moved to Burke, Virginia, in Fairfax County. The experience was vastly different from what I had known in Mississippi. Coming from a predominantly African American town to a community where many faces did not resemble mine or my family’s was challenging. In Mississippi, Caucasians were not part of my school or neighborhood, but in Virginia, I had to adjust to a new way of life, attending school and living among people from diverse backgrounds.

What inspired your entrepreneurial journey?

I have always seen myself as an entrepreneur. As a teenager, I would tell my friends that I would be wealthy, travel the world, oversee my companies, and live a very happy life. In 2019, I took the leap into entrepreneurship because I wanted to attend college full-time and knew that completing internships for my counseling program would make it difficult to maintain a traditional 9–5 job. I prayed and asked God for guidance, and He led me to start A Different Cloth Event Staffing, inspired by a conversation with my husband and my friend Katisha. My husband even came up with the business name. We have been successfully running this business for nearly five years now. In 2022, I started another venture, Unshakeable Saturday Brunch, because fostering community and gathering with other women has always been important and enjoyable to me. Then, in 2024, I launched my Christian counseling business after recognizing a significant need in the community. My goal is to be someone who identifies needs and works diligently to meet them.

Tell me about what problem your business solves?

If I had to identify a problem, it would be maintaining staff in the service industry and spreading myself too thin. Ideally, I would like to have a team of 50–60 dedicated individuals to work events, which would give me the time to focus on growing the business. This would allow me to step back from the day-to-day event work and concentrate on the ideas I am passionate about.

What do you define as a failure?

Simply, failure is not trying at all.

What have you felt you have failed at? What might you have done to prevent those failures?

One issue I used to struggle with was procrastination. I often delayed tasks, resulting in either late completions or not following through at all. Thank God I am delivered from that.

What kind of impact do you want to have on others?

I strive for people to see Christ in me and in everything I do. I hope that they are drawn to His glory and receive what they need through a relationship with Him. It’s never about me; I am merely a vessel, open to being used by God to bless, speak to, and uplift those He has called me to serve.

What is your why? Why did you start your journey?

I started my journey out of obedience to God. For so many years I wasted time and was disobedient and this caused opportunities to pass me by. I am committed to doing the work God has called me to and serving the people he has called me to serve. My why is every person I encounter because it is my opportunity to show them Jesus.

What hurdles did you personally face and how did you overcome them?

For ten years, I struggled with cocaine addiction. In 2005, I was charged with five felonies, which were later reduced to misdemeanors. I attribute the hardships and wasted years to my addiction. I believe that if I had not been an addict, I likely wouldn’t have found myself in the circumstances that led to those charges. The most significant impact on my life has been having a misdemeanor on my record, which I have had to defend repeatedly, even after 20 years. I overcame addiction after deciding to relocate to Barbados with my ex-husband. At that point, I was determined to change my life, and I realized that cocaine was not adding any value to it. While having a conviction on my record posed challenges early on, I recognized it as a significant mistake that I faced head-on. I did not allow it to limit my growth. I knew God had a plan for my life and I kept my focus on his will for me.

Do you feel your businesses have met the needs of the market at the time of conception? Does it still?

Every business I have started was created to meet a long-term need. In other words, I did not want to limit my business to a temporary or seasonal relevance. Instead, I aimed to make a lasting impact on the communities we serve, ensuring our work remains valuable for many years to come.

When did you realize entrepreneurship was right for you?

Ever since I was a teenager, around 14 or 15 years old, I knew deep down that I wanted to run my own business and be very successful.

Why did you choose entrepreneurship?

I don’t like taking orders from others. I enjoy the freedom of making my own decisions and setting my own hours.

What advice do you have for entrepreneurs and small business owners who may not be achieving their goals?

Return to what God originally instructed you to do. Often, we attempt to conduct business without including God or fail to be obedient to His guidance. I’ve learned that when there’s an issue in my business, I need to pause, pray, and listen for God’s next instructions.

What would you say is your most driving motivation to keep doing what you to do?

Someone, somewhere needs what I am offering!

What are you most excited or passionate about?

I love connecting with someone who wants to change something about their life and they allow me to help them do it.

What are the goals you most want to accomplish in your business? What are the goals that you hold personally?

My business and personal goals are closely aligned. In both areas, my primary aim is to always be a blessing to others. I strive to remain integral, respectful, and true to the person God designed me to be — a light to everyone I encounter.

Did you have any key mentors or people who deeply influenced who you are, what you believe in and what you’re committed to in your work and life? Tell me about them.

My mother has always been a source of inspiration for me. She taught me the values of resilience, forgiveness, and unwavering faith in God.

Did you have any life-changing experiences that put you on the path that led you to be doing what you’re doing today? Tell me about them.

I am a strong advocate for multiple streams of income. A life-changing experience for me was having to quit my job to focus on school, which left my husband as the sole provider. Due to the demands of school and internships, I had to find alternative ways to generate income.

What’s next for you in your business? What can readers look forward to from you?

Honestly, I don’t know what is next for my business or brand. I can only hope for the future, but I am fully open to whatever God has planned for me. Sometimes, we limit ourselves and God by trying to map out what we think should be next in our lives or businesses. I want to be guided by the Holy Spirit into my next chapter because I know for sure, without a doubt, it will all be for my good!

Click Here to learn more about Christina Love Hampton

Follow her on social media Facebook | Instagram | LinkedIn

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur