Meet Glendora Dvine, LPC, BC-TMH

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
6 min readFeb 12, 2021

Never stop. Its not supposed to get achieved the way you envision it because you can’t see the future. You are supposed to just trust the process, stay committed, and put in more than 100%. — Glendora Dvine, LPC, BC-TMH

Glendora has been a nationally accredited licensed counselor since 2007 and board-certified in Tele-mental Health since 2014. She founded Dvine Systems GA, a mental & behavioral health practice in 2010. Services to the community are provided face to face before COVID-19, online courses, and Tele-mental Health. Glendora has become recognized for her passion in 2 primary areas 1) Family safeguarding through healthy mental living 2) Helping mental health professionals build, scale, and grow in Tele-mental Health. She speaks on various platforms (schools, private and government, companies, etc.) motivating, encouraging, and inspiring others to keep moving in their purpose of life.

Now if we can, I’d like to go way back for a little while. Where did you grow up? What was it like to grow up in Michigan?

I grew up in Detroit, Michigan. It was very cold with mountains of snow that I walked through going back and forth to school. I remember walking the miles to and from the football field for cheerleading practice and spending my money for the bus at the store for candy to enjoy on my walking journeys.

What inspired your entrepreneurial journey ?

My journey has been inspired by my refusal to want to work for others. I want to remain in control of my going and coming and the cap on my income. The more I remain consistent and pursue higher levels of knowledge the more I can see the fruits of my labor.

Tell me about what problem your service solves?

A problem I have had in my business was to be able to find assistance for small businesses. Before COVID-19 there were no grants for small businesses in my area unless it was non-profit. That made me struggle to relatable and visibility in my community with bigger businesses. Unfortunately, COVID-19 happen but fortunately, it happened to be a good thing for my business.

What do you define as failure?

I define a failure as a disappointment, let down, a loss. I feel that failures are necessary for life due to personal growth.

What have you felt you have failed at? What might you have done to prevent those failures?

I have failed at managing my time at one point in my life. I was running around spreading myself between work and my family. I had to readjust my entire schedule and put up boundaries. I let the feeling of having to say “Yes” all the time go and started saying “Yes” to me.

What kind of impact do you want your service to leave on your client?

I want my services to remind people that we only have one life and we must live, not just exist. I want them to understand that they hold the key to their joy which equals their success in life.

What is your why? Why you did you start your journey?

My why is my family, my husband, and daughter. They are the reason that I work hard and strive for success. They are my family and I am their legacy as they are mine. I want to leave a mark on the world that my daughter and husband are proud of that means I must strive for success daily and break the generational patterns of my culture.

What hurdles did you personally face and how did you overcome them?

A hurdle I personally faced was being diagnosed with diabetes. I was quickly reminded how diabetes has already hurt my family and I instantly decided that I will fight for a better outcome with myself. I changed my eating patterns and begin to be more mindful of my daily routines with exercise and I was able to reverse the diagnosis and avoid medication.

Do you feel your product met the needs of the market at the time of conception? Does it still?

My product is related to mental health so I do feel it meets the market and still is relevant. I am an advocate for mental health and seeking professional help when needed. I desire to train as many as one million mental health professionals on the fundamentals and ethics of Tele-mental Health.

When did you realize entrepreneurship was right for you?

I realized that being an entrepreneur was right for me when I started to set my own hours and make money that was staining my lifestyle. At that point, I could understand why we work for others and give them that much power over our lives and the destiny in which it can go.

What advice do you have for entrepreneurs and small business owners who may not be achieving their goals?

Never stop. Its not supposed to get achieved the way you envision it because you can’t see the future. You are supposed to just trust the process, stay committed, and put in more than 100%.

What would you say is your most driving motivation to keep doing what you to do?

My most driving motivation is knowing that a lot of mental health professionals are practicing tele-mental health and is not properly trained for online private practice. I am also motivated because I want to be the help I needed when I started 10 years ago and couldn’t find a therapist in my field that was willing to teach me the business.

What are you most excited or passionate about? (In both business and life or both)

I am most passionate about hanging out with my husband at this time. When we have quiet time not work-related time together is a lot of joy for me. At work, my passion is from helping others and seeing them develop insight that helps them succeed in their world.

What are the goals you most want to accomplish in your business? What are the goals that you hold personally?

Goals for my business is to make $250k in 2021 and become positively recognized nationally for my work in mental health. Personally, my goals are to buy a home, a horse, and truck.

Did you have any key mentors or people who deeply influenced who you are, what you believe in and what you’re committed to in your work and life? Tell me about them.

Kat Dunn is my mentor. She believes in hard work and action takers. She has helped me change my thought process related to how I view money, how to walk away and let God after I have done my part, and how to over-deliver. The most important thing was helping me understand my niche!

Did you have any life-changing experiences that put you on the path that led you to be doing what you’re doing today? Tell me about them.

No, this has actually been the same path since I started college (wow).

What’s next for you in your business? What can readers look forward to from you?

My next business move is to host another challenge on Facebook for mental health clinicians and to continue to offer my coaching program the entire year of 2021.

Facebook | LinkedIn| Instagram| Twitter

Swagher Magazine Media Partnership

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur