Meet Mancave Atlanta Owner, Darnika “Nika” Platt

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
5 min readMar 29, 2021

I want men to have a space that they love. Men need a space to get self-care services. They need a space that is full-service for them — Darnika “Nika” Platt

The owner of Mancave Atlanta, an upscale men’s spa and event facility, Darnika “Nika” Platt is a lifelong entrepreneur and Atlanta tastemaker. As a 35-year-old businesswoman, she manages her life as a business owner, wife, mother, pet owner, and socialite. Nika considers herself to be a small-town girl with big city goals. During her regularly scheduled visits to the nail salon and day spas, Nika began to converse with some of the men who also frequented the same establishments. These conversations made her realize that men don’t have access to the same facilities that women have, including a one-stop-shop for self-care. Combining her love for pampering herself with her deep interest in self-care for the mind, body, and soul, she began visualizing the concept of a mancave, which is synonymous with a male-driven space where guys can relax. In 2017, Nika began the process of building out her vision for what is now known as ManCave Atlanta. ManCave Atlanta was inspired by the television show “Cheers,” where everyone knows your name, and is an upscale men’s spa and event facility located in the Lindbergh neighborhood of Atlanta’s luxurious Buckhead District. The physical build-out was completed within a year. Among other features, the facility houses multiple suites, including: manicure and pedicure massage and facial a private barbershop Nika’s vision is now a reality, one that has amazed every person who has entered the space. Making her the woman who knows exactly what males want and need. It also houses a cigar lounge and a sports lounge that can be utilized for various purposes. Prior to its official opening, the facility hosted many exclusive events. While the spa services are open to the public, for males and females, the daily use of lounge areas are only available to males who hold a membership.

Now if we can, I’d like to go way back for a little while. Where did you grow up?

Grand Rapids, MI. I left for Atlanta, Georgia in 2004 to expand my life in a new market. A tax preparer since high school, I learned how to do taxes and run a business from my parents and grandparents, who not only owned a tax services business but also a flower shop. I was able to take what I learned from my family and my time at Grand Rapids Community College to begin my own entrepreneurial journey. After leaving Grand Rapids and moving to Atlanta, I built a tax services business, with clients that still use my services today. I was not only able to successfully expand my life as an entrepreneur but I also met my husband of six years with whom I share two children. We have also built a logistics company together and Future Leaders In Training which is a non-profit business that is designed for at-risk youth.

What inspired your entrepreneurial journey or event?

My parents and grandparents.

Tell me about what problem your service solves?

My business provides spa services to men and provides them with a spa that caters specifically to them. There aren’t a lot of places that are full-service for men. They may provide a few services but don’t incorporate everything that men want.

What kind of impact do you want your service to leave on your customer?

I want men to have a space that they love. Men need a space to get self-care services. They need a space that is full-service for them. They need a space that specifically caters to them. And ManCave Atlanta provides all of that and more.

What is your why? Why you did you start your journey?

My “why” is that I wanted to create a space for men and give them a space that doesn’t exist. I regularly pamper myself and when I would visit certain facilities I noticed that there were men. When I would converse with those men I started to gather why they wanted to visit self-care facilities and what did they want if they had one specifically for men.

What hurdles did you personally face and how did you overcome them?

The biggest hurdle was making sure that the build-out was done exactly right.

Do you feel your product met the needs of the market at the time of conception? Does it still?

Yes, it’s a place that meets the needs of men and the decor reflects sophisticated men. Men didn’t have an adequate equivalent to women to have their self-care needs. I decided to create this space combining the concept of a man cave with the television show “Cheers” where everyone knows your name

When did you realize entrepreneurship was right for you?

It wasn’t a realization, it was a way of life for me due to my upbringing.

Why did you choose entrepreneurship?

I didn’t choose entrepreneurship. It’s literally the life I’ve always lived. My parents were entrepreneurs, my grandparents were entrepreneurs, and it was only natural that I became one as well.

What would you say is your most driving motivation to keep doing what you to do?

My family.

What are you most excited or passionate about? (In both business and life or both)

I am so excited that we officially opened at the end of this year and the things that we’ve done in a short amount of time. We have a lot of exciting things lined up.

What are the goals you most want to accomplish in your business? What are the goals that you hold personally?

I want Mancave Atlanta to continue to grow and bring in more men that would can benefit from the space. I want them to not just be customers or clients but actual members who love and care about it.

Did you have any key mentors or people who deeply influenced who you are, what you believe in and what you’re committed to in your work and life? Tell me about them.

My family. My parents and grandparents were entrepreneurs and I worked for both of them as a teenager. Being a business owner normal for me.

What’s next for you in your business? What can readers look forward to from you?

We’re working on bringing more events and activities to ManCave Atlanta, and bring together partnerships that will be beneficial to our clients.

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur