Meet R&B, Pop Singer & Songwriter, True

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
5 min readApr 29, 2021

To me Failure is all about perspective. — True

True is an all American R&B/Pop recording artist, musician, model and actress. Born and raised in Youngstown, OH, the young starlet was introduced to her talents at the tender age of 3. Officially launching her professional career in 2010, True kept herself active in the local scene, performing at lounges, community events and opening for national acts such as Jeremih, August Alsina, and Mario. To date, the ambitious artist has performed for many notable regional events such as the Ohio Hip Hop Awards, Ohio Entertainment Awards and the Cleveland Film Fest. With a resume that started at the age of 9, True has credits of opening for and working with the some recognizable names such as Clarence “Dr. Bob” Ross (Saxophone player and Musical coordinator for “The Isley Brothers), J-Stylez (Member of Blackstreet 2), James Worthy (Grammy Award Winning Producer), K. Camp and many more. She has released “No Fucc Boyz” and “Blow It” singles. Now that True is signed to Sky’s The Limit Entertainment’s label, expect to hear more from her and Sky as a joint effort starting with her single “W.T.F.Y.M” being released this April. With her sights set on national success, she is in the studio preparing to release her debut EP/Album and continues to stay busy with modeling and acting opportunities.

Now if we can, I’d like to go way back for a little while. Where did you grow up? What was it like to grow up in Youngstown?

Youngstown is a city of lessons. I learned a lot from my environment. Growing up watching people make mistakes that affect them 10, 20 years later; really stuck with me. Most will call my home town a “Crabs in a Bucket” type of city, I would say I’m one of the few Crabs that Climbed their way out and Found the Ocean. Lol I was taught how to be tough and it helped me with my music career thus far. I can deal with criticism or people not liking me… what can I say that’s Youngstown in me.. Lol

What inspired your entrepreneurial journey or event?

I mean where can I start. Family more than anything… I’ve lost so many loved ones that I know would be right in my corner at every show, unfortunately they aren’t here or able to see me at this stage in my career but they are my Reasons. I also have a Niece who is the love of my life and she looks up to me , mind you she is a huge sponge, so I make music to inspire and guide young girls like her self. Music for me was my outlet. If my music can help any young girl or boy get through the most difficult or emotional times of their lives , that’s what I live for.

What do you define as failure?

Everyone has their own opinion on Failure. To me Failure is all about perspective. Everyone fails at things. If you fall short of a goal that’s a failure right… but honestly I think Life is about lessons and blessings. My “failures” in life only made me the woman I am now. Fall down get back up and try again. Lol no Failures this way only Lessons.

What kind of impact do you want your music to leave on your audience?

Honestly I want to bring something different to music that’s “out” now. I think most of the music that is popular now isn’t Timeless. I want to make timeless music. Something that can Resonate for years. Positive music with good Vibes. Like Beyoncé said “ I was here, I lived, I loved, I was here I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted And it was more than I thought it would be I will leave my mark so everyone will know I was here”

What is your why? Why you did you start your journey?

I have a saying I Love telling people Artist are “ Guinea pigs“ we are test dummies. We go through the pain and anguish of life, relationships, hell even jobs and finances. I was gifted with a voice, all you have to do is listen to connect with people. So my why is simple, I want to help one person with knowing that they aren’t the only one dealing with a rocky Relationship or losing a job. We all are human. And that’s who I sing to the “Human” side to people.

What hurdles did you personally face and how did you overcome them?

I’ve dealt with life . Like everyone has gone or is going through. Heartbreak , depression, overthinking, loss . Pretty much everything . How I get over it is I write . I get in the booth and lay my emotions and thoughts on a track. After I’m done I’ll listen to and let it all out . Music is my therapy.

Do you feel your music meets the needs of the market at the time of conception? Does it still?

I like to think my music is timeless so to answer that is yes and no because I make what I feel not what is in . I feel that is what makes me relatable because I have not only an emotional range but a range in genre . Music is life in every aspect. So yea it will meet the market because the market is look for different and that’s exactly what I am.

When did you realize entrepreneurship was right for you?

I realized it when I was in college and I said I wasn’t doing music anymore . By the end of my first semester I ended up playing piano and singing in the school choir . When God says yes nobody can say no. Not even yourself.

Why did you choose entrepreneurship?

I didn’t, it chose me .

What advice do you have for entrepreneurs and small business owners who may not be achieving their goals?

Keep pushing,no matter how hard it gets no matter how much you want to quit . You will get there when you are suppose to.

Instagram | Twitter | Music

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur