Meet Rex Coble founder of Coble’s Landing

Coble’s Landing the National Park for Black People.

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
6 min readJun 30, 2021

--

Coble’s Landing is the perfect example of a safe space that is leaps and bounds outside of the original concept. Owned by Rex and Shawanda Coble of Charlotte, NC; Coble’s Landing is 25 acres of natural, untouched land that has been transformed into the ultimate safe space. Like most families that loved the outdoors, the Coble’s would frequent public areas to hike, fish, and enjoy the time along with their children but it began to be a little hard to ignore the disparities within the outdoor community and People of Color. While the “Nature Gap” was no surprise to the Coble’s, they were not going to allow it from keeping the experience from their family. During the COVID-19 pandemic, Rex was forced to take some time off from his successful barbershop in Charlotte and had time to spend in his hometown of Burnsville, NC. As he returned to his roots, he saw an opportunity to fill a void. Not less than five minutes from where Rex grew up was an available mass amount of land that held every element that the Coble family loved about the outdoors. After researching the land and planning out how space would serve a purpose to the community, the Coble’s purchased the acres in October of 2020 owning what would be the first Black-Owned nature preserve in the southeast and the second on the entire east coast.

Now if we can, I’d like to go way back for a little while. Where did you grow up? What was it like to grow up in Burnsville, NC?

I am from Burnsville, NC. Anson County. I grew up in a big family. We didn’t have much but together we had it all. I was taught the importance of family and taking care of one another.

What inspired your entrepreneurial journey or event?

My parents separated and to help out at home I started to cut hair. When I realized I was actually good at it I started to charge. So I kept that trade and completed barber college and opened my KingDome Kutzz in Charlotte, NC.

Tell me about what problem your business solves?

Coble’s Landing will provide a space for people to get out of the city and discover or reconnect with nature. The space is for everyone but we really want to be a space that POC can feel free to enjoy the outdoors for any reason. Whether it’s for hiking or caping or even to practice traditional ceremonies, hold family events, anything. There is something called the “Nature Gap” and that's a disparity of POC feeling totally included in the world outdoor and nature-based activity. We want to alleviate that gap.

What do you define as a failure?

Not trying, you have to try. Even if you don’t hit that target you’ll know at least one way that doesn’t work if you ever try again.

What have you felt you have failed at? What might you have done to prevent those failures?

A lot! But I don’t think I would change anything. I did learn from them tho and I’ve applied every lesson but my failures either inspired me or taught me.

What kind of impact do you want your venue to leave on your vistor?

We want our visitors to feel safe, included, comfortable. The thought of nature and the outdoors is infinite, but the community associated with it is not. You won’t get strange looks for burning sage at your campsite here, or having a full moon circle, or simply have a fear when you are two women hiking a trail. Removing those negative aspects makes this a safe space.

What is your why? Why did you start your journey?

Outside of doing this to provide a space for Black people, this is for my family. This is land that was once owned by my family, so repurchasing this and then turning it into something for families, especially those that look like mine is definitely my why.

What hurdles did you personally face and how did you overcome them?

Balance. Trying to balance my current business while developing the Coble’s Landing Project has been a hurdle that I’m constantly jumping. I own a barbershop, with barbers and full clientele that still requires my attention.

Do you feel your venue met the needs of the market at the time of conception? Does it still?

With COVID having a major effect on how people can safely gather and interact I think Coble’s Landing provides the ultimate alternative for that. We do follow all sanitation and cleaning rules for shared areas and items but you have endless space out here.

When did you realize entrepreneurship was right for you?

When I realized this was the only way I could have ultimate creative control, freedom, and flexibility. It’s hard work to get things up and running and be sustainable but once they are it’s a great feeling.

Why did you choose entrepreneurship?

Freedom. I work very hard, but I get to do it on my terms and in my own way.

What advice do you have for entrepreneurs and small business owners who may not be achieving their goals?

Be patient and consistent. Know that anything worth having takes time to achieve and also takes hard work to practice or even for others to catch on.

What would you say is your most driving motivation to keep doing what you to do?

My family, my son, and my daughter.

What are you most excited or passionate about? (In both business and life or both)

In life, seeing my kids grow up knowing they have something to continue to build and further for generations. In business, just seeing the support and growth of Coble’s Landing. We’re still in development but seeing how people come out weekly with their families lets me know that just the space is enough.

What are the goals you most want to accomplish in your business? What are the goals that you hold personally?

They kind of run hand in hand. I would love to see Coble’s Landing be the foundation of a self-sustaining community or homestead-like community.

Did you have any key mentors or people who deeply influenced who you are, what you believe in, and what you’re committed to in your work and life? Tell me about them.

My parents. My mom’s money management skills and my father's work ethic. Those tools from both of them are vital in everything that I do.

Did you have any life-changing experiences that put you on the path that led you to be doing what you’re doing today? Tell me about them.

When I was younger and less focused I was in a car accident as a result of drunk driving, it made me realize life is short. I started to think about what I needed to do to actually create life.

What’s next for you in your business? What can readers look forward to from you?

We are currently developing other areas of the land. So visitors can soon look forward to fully functional cabins, an event space/wedding area, expansion of available activities, a lot.

Is there anything else you would like to share with me?

We are aiming to have Coble’s Landing viewed as the National Park for Black People. We want to provide that space.

www.VisitCoblesLanding.com

www.facebook.com/CoblesLanding

www.instagram.com/visitcobleslanding

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur