Meet Shawnee Palmer, LCSW, LAC/Mindset Coach/Author

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
6 min readFeb 9, 2021

Mental and emotional wellness is just as valuable as our physical wellness. — Shawnee Palmer, LCSW, LAC

After working in healthcare for many years, Shawnee developed a desire to become more active in helping people overcome the challenges in their lives. This desire soon transformed into a passion, which led Shawnee to become a Licensed Clinical Social Worker and Addiction Counselor. She named her private mental health practice Alpine’s Empowerment Agency, both as a tribute to what she works with her clients toward — self-empowerment and overcoming their challenges — and after her grandmother, who has been a spiritual guide and angel for Shawnee, guiding her life long after she’s passed. Not only does Shawnee work with those in need of mental and spiritual healing, but she also aids in physical wellbeing. Shawnee is the owner of Love & Serenity Wellness, which is a company that provides natural, chemical-free body, and skin products. Within this company, Shawnee incorporates her talents in the mental health sector by also providing books and consultation services that aid in healing, understanding, and gaining wisdom that guides individuals to fulfill their true purpose in life.

Now if we can, I’d like to go way back for a little while. Where did you grow up? What was it like to grow up in Illinois?

Springfield, Illinois! It’s a small town so it was a limiting life experience while living there. I spent a great deal of time with family during the holidays and family events. There aren’t many opportunities to expand personally or professionally however we were close to some major cities so I was able to visit them from time to time.

What inspired your entrepreneurial journey or event?

I have always been an entrepreneur at heart from my childhood-teen years. I used to braid others hair, babysit, throw parties and do taxes for fees. I always knew I’d own my own business, I just wasn’t certain what it would look like. When working for an employer, I noticed that I was good with pointing out their weaknesses and I would always tell myself what I would and wouldn’t do. I knew that people needed to work for someone like myself but I’d have to start my company from scratch to build a healthy foundation, where the people who worked for me would feel supported and at peace to work in an establishment.

Tell me about what problem your service solves?

I tackle topics on stress in the work environment, family dynamics and limiting belief patterns, low self-esteem, trauma, depression, anxiety, etc. Overall, I offer solutions to changing their perspective on these issues to help their mental and emotional mindsets.

What do you define as failure?

I feel that failure is when you decide that you no longer desire to add value to your life so you allow obstacles to come into your life and talk you out of walking in your purpose.

What have you felt you have failed at? What might you have done to prevent those failures?

I feel that during my entire 20’s I failed to love myself and set healthy boundaries. I allowed people into my life who I had unpleasant experiences with. I would have listened to my intuition and been more intentional about valuing myself.

What kind of impact do you want your service to leave on your client?

To educate and empower business owners about mental, emotional wellness so that they are able to overcome any and all adversities that may come their way on their entrepreneurial journey.

What is your why? Why you did you start your journey?

I have three whys! 1. My son-He’s watching me day in and day out, picking up on my habits. 2. My inner child-She craved to have a good model and now she’s healed because she became everything she needed at a young age plus more! 3. The current and future children of the world. When I work with people now and help them heal, it causes more parents to be prepared to minimize traumatizing their future children. I overcame being a child of two parents who abused alcohol. Whether a parent is a functional alcoholic or not, it impacts their ability to show up for their children on an emotional and mental level. I tell my story because it negatively impacted all areas of my life then it helped me to find ways to help heal myself, bloodline and communities.

Do you feel your product met the needs of the market at the time of conception? Does it still?

Mental and emotional wellness is just as valuable as our physical wellness. People are more prone to accepting emotional and mental health support so the services and products that I offer will always be valuable because they add value to others lives. Humans experience stress everyday and many don’t know how and when to take time out for themselves to alleviate the stress. My products are available for them to practice self care and self love. My services are available to assist them with addressing and understanding their pain and stressors.

What advice do you have for entrepreneurs and small business owners who may not be achieving their goals?

Never give up. I believe that getting a mentor/coach can help elevate anyone. A professional can help you with identifying those obstacles that you’re having and motivate you to maintain consistency with your goals.

What would you say is your most driving motivation to keep doing what you to do?

I feel that knowing my purpose and walking in it is the only way for me to truly live authentically. If I’m not doing what I was called to do in this world then I’d be in a state of sadness.

What are you most excited or passionate about? (In both business and life or both)

I’m excited about my own personal development and how I continue to break barriers with limiting beliefs that I once had about myself. I love getting to show and teach others how to do the same for themselves and watch their victories.

What are the goals you most want to accomplish in your business? What are the goals that you hold personally?

I desire to be a serial entrepreneur and pass down my businesses to my child, grand children, great grandchildren etc. I would like to have some of my companies internationally both for profits and nonprofits. It’s important to me that the future youth in my blood line acquire wealth more easily than I had to. I’ve had to fight to become who I am today and I’m excited about teaching others to do the same but of course with less fight!

What’s next for you in your business? What can readers look forward to from you?

I will be relaunching my business with a new look in 2021. I will also offer virtual events in 2021 for my brands and giving away more to the community.

More about Shawnee

Shawnee is an author who released her book, “Shifting Your Mindset: A Guide to Overcome Depression, Anxiety & Trauma” October 2020. The book focuses on identifying ways to change your perspective on life. As a mental health therapist, Shawnee wrote scenarios based on her own life experiences to give the readers a great idea of how they can overcome many life obstacles — from unhealthy relationships to abandonment issues. Shawnee founded Kindred Youth Foundation in 2020. The nonprofit’s mission is to build healthier emotional and mental wellness foundations through education and support for teens in underprivileged areas who have relationship challenges with a parent or caregiver in recovery for substance abuse.

Alpine Empowerment Agency Website

Love and Serenity Wellness Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Kindred Youth Foundation Website| Facebook | Instagram

SwagHer Magazine Media Partner

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur