Meet Singer Khalea Lynee’

Writer, Song Writer & Performer

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
8 min readFeb 7, 2022

--

I want to make timeless music that will transcend genres and generations, yet still be relevant to what’s going on in the lives of people.- Khalea Lynee’

Khalea Lynee’ is a singer, songwriter, and performer with a “spiritual connection” to music. Attributing her grassroots beginning in the church and the strict upbringing of her mother, a pastor, Khalea brilliantly showcases her soulful, jazzy vibe influenced by her gospel roots which have helped mold her into the artist she is today. After capturing the national stage on NBC’s Season 17 of “The Voice,” Khalea Lynee’ won all four chairs in her blind audition with her powerful and passionate rendition of “Best Part.” Representing Team Legend, led by singer-songwriter John Legend, throughout the competition, the judges described her talent as magical, polished, versatile, and one of the more gifted talents of that season. Fulfilling her lifelong passion for inspiring others through the language of music, Khalea Lynee’ continues to write and perform her own original works with the 2020 debut release of her new single “This Love” and the curation of her band “The Fascinations”.

Now if we can, I’d like to go way back for a little while. Where did you grow up? What was it like to grow up in Florida?

I grew up on the south side of St. Petersburg, Florida & had a GREAT childhood. I have a lot of wonderful memories from my childhood days that I often pull from when I feel I need to be grounded, or just need to think about something that will make me smile. I grew up with a village of people who loved & took care of me. Not just my family members, but even the neighbors who lived on my street. Everybody looked out for everybody. Growing up in St. Pete is something I’m very proud of.

What inspired your entrepreneurial journey or event?

My journey as a singer/songwriter/entrepreneur is something that was instilled in me from a very young age. I’ve never really wanted to do anything other than sing. I have pictures of myself as a toddler, holding a microphone or sitting at the piano. My mother was and probably always will be my greatest influence. She was a singer and choir director & was the first person to really expose me to music. She purchased a piano for me before I was born. She kept me surrounded with music & my love for it was totally organic & increased as I grew older. I knew that pursuing a career in music was what I was called to do very early on.

Tell me about what problem your music solves?

I see being a singer, songwriter, and performer as someone who basically fills a void. Where words can’t help, music can. So, in a sense, I help to fill voids in the world. Music can help to calm anxiety, it can change a person’s mood, it can change the entire atmosphere in a room, it can help encourage someone when they’re going through hard times. I try to write music that is timeless & that people of all ages can pull from. I feel that music is healing, so I guess I would say that my service is to provide healing through music.

What do you define as a failure?

To me, a failure is when you haven’t even tried. That’s the only way that you can truly fail or be a failure. Giving true effort & not succeeding in the exact way that you planned is not a failure, because something can still be learned from that attempt to help you progress even further in your next attempt. The lessons learned can propel you even further on the next go-around. Not trying at all doesn’t progress you from one step to the next. A failure is the total lack of attempt.

What have you felt you have failed at? What might you have done to prevent those failures?

I honestly don’t feel that I’ve failed at anything in life. Not everything in my life has panned out exactly the way I planned or intended. But as long as I’m still progressing forward, I don’t see any of it as a failure.

What kind of impact do you want your music to leave on your listener?

The impact I hope to leave on those who come in contact with my artistry is for them to be inspired and encouraged in some way. My goal is to uplift and leave my listeners in a better state of mind than they were in before listening to my music. For any other single moms with a dream, after coming in contact with me, I want them to feel inspired that if I can work towards what I’m passionate about, so can they. My desire is for everyone to come to believe that anything is possible.

What is your why? Why did you start your journey?

My children are my why. They inspire me to want better. Even in those times where I’m not necessarily motivated enough to get up and go hard, it’s because I want more for them than I get up & go hard anyway. The level in which I want them to be provided for & taken care of is the reason why I can’t quit. The creator entrusted me with them & I can’t let him or them down. That’s my why.

What hurdles did you personally face and how did you overcome them?

I, like most people, have faced a lot of hurdles in my life. Losing my mother to cancer at 14 years old, going through a divorce after almost 10 years of marriage, not graduating from college at the time I felt I should have because I was consumed with being a wife and mother, growing up without my father & then meeting him at the age of 30. The list goes on. We can plan for things & set out to accomplish personal life goals by a certain age (which is exactly what I did), but there are times when life takes us down paths we didn’t intend to travel on. All you can really do is play with the hand you’re dealt & play to win. That’s really all I’m doing to face & overcome the things that life has thrown my way; playing to win. I don’t allow anything to convince me to quit. Just keep moving, that’s it.

Do you feel your product met the needs of the market at the time of conception? Does it still?

I can honestly say that ever since I first started performing live & working on releasing original content, I’ve always gotten great feedback from those who listen & follow my journey. I do feel that my artistry was meeting a need when I first started out over 10 years ago, and because of my progression, I feel that it’s definitely meeting a need now. I believe there’s a place in the music industry for what I have to offer.

When did you realize entrepreneurship was right for you?

Entrepreneurship in music is something that I’m just now starting to fully understand & fully work towards. It’s taken me years to get to this point, mainly because I have children who depend on me to bring in a steady paycheck. I can’t afford to be financially consistent. Entrepreneurship is not for the weak & you really have to love what it is you’re doing. Otherwise, you won’t go hard at it. But when you love the work you’re doing, it doesn’t feel like work. You genuinely just enjoy the journey. That’s where I am right now. I’m enjoying the journey.

Why did you choose entrepreneurship?

I truly believe that entrepreneurship is something that chooses you. Not everyone is made to work a regular 9 to 5 job. Some of us were designed to think & live outside the box. That’s me. Always has been.

What advice do you have for entrepreneurs and small business owners who may not be achieving their goals?

The only advice that’s ever really helped me is to stay consistent in what it is you’re doing. So that’s the advice I always give others. Remain consistent because quitting, giving up & letting up never got anyone anywhere. You can’t afford to slow down, not if you truly intend to reach your goals. Just keep moving, and the results of everything you sow into your dream and or your business, you will HAVE to reap. That’s just the way life works. There’s a time to sow & then there’s a time to reap. You only get out of life what you put in so KEEP SOWING.

What would you say is your most driving motivation to keep doing what you to do?

Aside from my children, my most driving motivation to keep doing what I do is just the love that I have for music. It’s my passion and I can’t see myself not doing it or doing something else. I know that there’s a reason & a purpose for it, so I’ll continue to work at it until that purpose has been fully realized.

What are you most excited or passionate about? (In both business and life or both)

Currently, I’m most excited about releasing new music. I’ve been working on a series of songs for quite some time now, so I’m very excited to finally get them out so the world can hear them. I’m also super excited about being a part of a label & a team that believes in me & my music. I believe that RC Muzik Group is where I’m supposed to be & great things are going to come from our partnership.

What are the goals you most want to accomplish in your business? What are the goals that you hold personally?

The main goals that I’m focused on right now are putting out more music & performing that music in as many places as possible. Really using my gifts to their fullest potential. That’s the goal.

Did you have any key mentors or people who deeply influenced who you are, what you believe in, and what you’re committed to in your work and life? Tell me about them.

The mentors who have influenced me the most are my mother, my older brother Julian, my label CEO Ryan, and my “big brother” Trumaine. Others have of course helped to mentor me along this journey, but these are the individuals who have either helped to shape me as an artist, push me, encourage me and or pour into me. My mother is no longer here, but it’s because of her that my love for music runs so deep. I’ll always honor her for that. The others have provided opportunities, encouraged me to believe I’m capable of accomplishing those things I didn’t believe I could, mentioned my name in rooms full of influential people when I wasn’t even present, and included me when they didn’t have to. I can call on them any time of day or night & they’ll always answer. I’m thankful for the circle of wonderful people I’ve been surrounded by.

Did you have any life-changing experiences that put you on the path that led you to be doing what you’re doing today? Tell me about them.

I honestly believe that everything I’ve experienced in life has all propelled me to land in the very spot I stand in today. Every last experience. I regret nothing nor do I think I’d change anything. Everything had its purpose & every experience has made me into the person I am right now.

What’s next for you in your business/brand? What can readers look forward to from you?

What’s next is more music, more live performances (if covid allows), more content, more of me being present and visible so that my listeners can get to know me a little better. More vulnerability.

Learn more about Khalea Lynee’ by visiting meetkhalealynee.com

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur