Meet Visionary Minds Public Relations and Media Founder Tammy Reese

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
6 min readMar 23, 2021

I had the esteemed opportunity to chat with this media powerhouse and public relations professional. Tammy is very driven, focused and as a writer she strives to ensure that stories are told in an engaging way. Take a moment and read what inspired her journey and what she has planned for her future.

What inspired your love for theatre?

When I was a kid I would act out movie scenes over and over. Especially horror film scenes lol. I would act out the male and the female roles and try to scare or impress my parents. My mom realized at age 12 I was supposed to be in the entertainment industry. Ironically she named me after her favorite actress Tamara Dobson. When I was 12 my mom took me to audition for a stage and tv production company for kids, teens and young adults called The Media Unit TV and Stage Production Company. I was scared to death,but I aced my audition and became one of the youngest members of the organization. I was in the company from 1998 until 2006 when I went off to college. For 8 years I performed in 60 live stage shows a year, and was a director and host of our weekly tv program that we produced out of our public access tv station. The show was called Rough Times Live. I used to be in awe as a teen especially in highschool when I got to host or direct a live tv show. Our stage plays and our tv program were all on topics of social awareness. I have always loved to entertain an audience and educate them through the arts. There is nothing like the feeling of live theater. The only way I can describe it is magically. I’ve won tons of awards in the Central NY region for acting. Acting was my first love. I also performed in musicals with the RedHouse Theater in Syracuse NY. With Red House I was a part of the ensemble cast of The Color Purple and Dreamgirls. Our Dreamgirls musical received a nomination for best ensemble cast. Great memories. I will forever love the theater. It is how my career began.

How therapeutic was the writing of your chapter in “She Wouldn’t Let me Fall”?

Extremely therapeutic. I got to dedicate my chapter in the book to my mom while she was still alive during this human experience. My chapter in the She Wouldn’t Let Me Fall 100 Women 100 Stories book was called “Mother and Daughter Conquer Depression Together”. My mother and I were both diagnosed with depression and we both were determined to not let it strain our relationship. We were also determined to educate other black women especially those who are in public figure positions to not be ashamed to ask for mental health guidance when needed. Coming out about my diagnosis was a breath of fresh air but also it inspired so many people to not live in shame and begin to end the stigma as we need to.

At times black women are often viewed as superheroes and unbreakable — to the point that speaking about our mental health battles is taboo — What do you want to dispel about this thought?

I would say in 2018 I was honored with the prestigious 40 Under Forty Award, In 2019 on International Women’s Day at the Women’s Rights National Historical Park I was the youngest and only African American that year to be honored with the WCNY Makers: Women Who Make America Award. I have interviewed tons of celebrities and influencers, and also covered some of the most amazing industry events, but guess what? I was diagnosed with Depression and Anxiety. I am a strong , beautiful, talented, kind, humble woman but I am also human. I’ve experienced trauma in my life that I had to seek therapy and guidance to cope. For centuries Black Women held our families and this entire country down we have to selfcare more than ever. So many of us have life trauma we don’t address because too often we agree with society to not show our emotions. Also, many of us think that therapy is for white people only. Those stereotypes that black women are not supposed to deal with mental health issues need to end. It takes strength in acknowledging the first steps in seeking help for the betterment of your mental and emotional health. I am thankful I have taken the right steps to conquer this. One day at a time.

How have you been able to bring your experiences to the Communications Committee for the New York Women in Film and Television?

I am so honored to be a part of this amazing organization which I’ve always wanted to be a part of. As a woman in media and entertainment I knew being in the communications community was perfect for me. I love assisting with promoting all that NYWIFT does within the organization. I am blessed to have so much support from the organization as well.

What words of encouragement would you like to share with women who are not feeling like themselves?

Talk to someone you trust or with a mental health professional. I promise you mental health professionals especially dedicate their lives to help others. Remember that in life we need our ME Season, what I mean by that is never forget that sometimes you have to put you first. You can not be helpful to others if you aren’t good to you. Cry if you need it is ok. It is ok to not be ok sometimes. Don’t stay in that dark place but don’t let no one make you feel bad for feeling human emotions. Sometimes that crown may slip and that’s ok it is not broken. Re-adjust that crown and keep being the Queen you are!

Tammy is determined to showcase inspirational stories and people during these unprecedented times. She became a contributor for Vocal Media where she interviews Celebrities, Influencers, Activists, Entrepreneurs, Entertainment & Media professionals, and more. Her recent interviews include Legendary Actor Leon ( Five Heartbeats & Little Richard and The Temptations), veteran actress Meagan-Good Franklin (Think Like A Man, Intruder, Shazam!) Mike and Slim from R&B Grammy Award Winning group 112, and Emmy Nominated Producer of Lifetime Networks Docuseries Surviving R Kelly, Tamra Simmons.

While telling impactful stories through film , videography or journalism, Tammy also is lead Publicist at Visionary Minds Public Relations and Media. Her mission is to give exposure through digital marketing, media consulting and writing services to event planners, small business owners and emerging film, Entertainment and Media professionals. Tammy thrives on giving her clients the ultimate multimedia experience that elevates their careers.

Tammy serves on the Communications Committee for New York Women In Film and Television.

She is Publicist for Independent Filmmaker Day which as a community online of over 600,000.

Tammy aims to be empowered so that she can empower others. Tammy defines strength, selflessness and humbleness.

For media inquiries email VisionaryMindsNY@Gmail.Com.

You can find out more about Tammy by visiting her Website.

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur