Women Go Red Virtual Open House Event

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan
4 min readFeb 2, 2021

Local Mississippi Chapter Hosts Event to Address Pandemic-related Stress, Heart Disease in Women of Color

I had the opportunity to chat with Tonya Franklin, Alpha Alpha Chapter President of Alpha Omega Theta Sorority, Inc. about her upcoming event — “Theta Women Go Red”, its first virtual Open House in honor of the national event Women Go Red on February 5 via their Facebook Event.

Special guests will include local Mississippi chef, Chef Victoria “Chef V ” Lewis of Flowood, MS. Born and raised in Mississippi, Lewis is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America Hyde Park, and will share with attendees a heart healthy way to eat.

“Food, in my opinion is the key component in establishing heart healthy habits; we are what we eat. (Many) people when they awake in the morning, their first thought is food and not exercising, which is another key component in healthy habits,” said Chef Victoria.

We chat via Q&A on what inspired this event and what she hopes to accomplish with it.

What inspired your event?

I have seen and I know so many Black women who struggle with heart disease or some form of health issue, but do not know how to manage it effectively. Stress sometimes is seen as the “given” for women, especially business owners, and I want to offer resources and options to maintain their health while they are securing the bag.

Tell me about what problem your event solves?

Bringing awareness of heart disease and how it affects women the Black community, provide resources on healthy eating, relieving stress, and improving mental health to become more whole beings through holistic approaches.

What kind of impact do you want your event to leave on your attendee?

That not only do the women of Alpha Omega Theta Sorority, Inc. focus on sisterhood, but we care about our communities and how they prosper not only in business, career and family, but also in health.

What is your why? Why you did you start your journey?

My “why” is when I look back to 6 years ago starting my own health and professional journey and knowing how I desperately needed a support system and tribe to nurture, empower and pour into my vision. Alpha Omega Theta Sorority, Inc. has been that gateway for me to do those things for other women.

When did you realize entrepreneurship was right for you?

When I realized that I was shortchanging my community and audience of what I had to offer. I love serving and empowering others.

Why did you choose entrepreneurship?

Because it afforded me the flexibility to use my skills, gifts, and passion to share with others by my own standards.

What advice do you have for entrepreneurs and small business owners who may not be achieving their goals?

Go for what you want. Don’t allow fear to stop you. Let fear be your fuel to achieve your goals and set your own standard of success.

What would you say is your most driving motivation to keep doing what you to do?

My beautiful Sorors, and watching them blossom in their own lanes as we serve collectively in this organization.

What are you most excited or passionate about? (In both business and life or both)

I’m excited about doing even more in our communities and spreading what Alpha Omega Theta Sorority has to offer!

What are the goals you most want to accomplish during your event? What are the goals that you hold personally?

Less than 60% of women are aware of the effects of heart disease in our community, and one of my goals is to bring that awareness. I also want to create more partnerships with those who are in health and wellness to have more resources and support available for women in our communities.

What’s next for you in your brand? What can readers look forward to from you?

We’re growing in our sorority at-large, and you can expect to see more of the Alpha Alpha Chapter serving in our respective communities and partnering to make larger impacts in business and career development. We’re moving forward to do more as we grow more.

www.thetawomenunite.org | Facebook | Instagram

ABOUT Alpha Omega Theta Sorority, Inc. Alpha Omega Theta Sorority, Incorporated is a non-collegiate social sorority founded on the vision of Grand Founder Soror Sherika Mitchell Stroud to bring a massive network of women from all over the world together in sisterhood and service to the community in which they reside. The Alpha Alpha Chapter is in Jackson, MS with a focus to implement the Founder’s vision through empowerment, self-improvement, and nurturing relationships.

--

--

Chandra Gore
Conversations with Chan

Principal Consultant & Publicist for Chandra Gore Consulting. Author, Speaker, Producer, Community Organizer and Festival Founder — Serial Entrepreneur