The Wrap-Up

Matthew McCarthy
Conversing with Contemporaries
2 min readOct 2, 2017

Having good communication skills is a huge part of who you are both as a person and as an employee. Through my last five posts I have shown you some of the various ways you can improve upon your communication skills. Business officials value those who work well and get along with others. Due to this fact, I created this blog in order to give you great examples and tips that can help you work towards being that outgoing and likable employee that these business managers and CEOs look for.

Before I began this project I did not have many friends at UB. I was quiet and kept to myself, just wishing to get my work done and move on to the next task. Whether it be schoolwork or football, I am always busy and never previously made an effort to reach out to others and build relationships here. However, this Skill Hacking Blog Project challenged me to find time for socializing and I’m glad it did. I know twice as many people (outside of the football team) here than I did when I began the project, and I can see myself being close with a few of these new friends for a long time. This project gave me the courage to go out and meet new people. Due to my research and efforts, I am more confident than ever when talking to new people. I know that if I trust my findings and be as friendly as I can I can make new friends wherever I may be.

I hope this blog had a similar effect on you, the reader. You never know how big of an impact a college project can have on your life if you don’t give it the attention it deserves. Outside of the social life, you are now better equipped with the tips and guideline from this blog to talk to coworkers, managers and bosses in the future. May the best of luck be with you. If my blog was of any help to you at all with your future endeavors, please reach out to me and let me know!

All the best,

Matt McCarthy

--

--