© 123rf.com

Conversion Zindabad — 1

Is converting to anti-conversion conversion?

Convertalkies
2 min readAug 31, 2019

--

A while ago, a friend stated that, religious conversion was not good. Empathising with his point of view, a good conversation ensued and through the course of it I asked him. If you assume that I believe in converting people to Christianity, are you suggesting me that I should convert to your view that conversion should be stopped? Are you not trying to convert me to your view?

Are you not assuming that your view is the right view? If you think your view is the truth, it is good to ask me to convert. But, if you are saying conversion itself is wrong then what are you trying to say? Asking me to convert to anti-conversion view is a contradiction. It doesn’t make sense.

I wish you could have convinced me to convert from untruth to truth believing that conversion is a good thing.

He said, “Agreed. Valid point.” Next I asked him. Do you believe in the truth? He didn’t respond immediately.

We continued the discussion on what is the truth, and how do we know it. Check out the next post.

‘Conversion Zindabad’ series is a partly fictional and partly actual conversations on the concept of ‘freedom of conscience’. If you like these posts and want to be notified on the new posts, follow us by clicking the button below.

--

--