The decision behind the iPhone

Luis Del Barco
cookiesurfer
Published in
2 min readSep 5, 2016

--

Every year, when September comes I ask myself the same question: buy or not the new iPhone? Until now this has been an easy-answer question, but this year the decision looks a little bit more complex.

Why?

Through the different models Apple has launched, they have stablished an unwritten rule with us, their clients. A sort of «moral contract» in which they give us a totally redesigned iPhone every two years. And we buy it. Because we all love new-shiny designs. But exceptional situations demand exceptional rules. We’re not going to see Tim Cook presenting a full redesigned iPhone the next September 7th. Instead of it, Apple is going to launch a 6/6s similar one, with a few upgrades but nothing huge at all. At least not in the same way we were seeing.

Again. Why?

At Apple it’s all about dates. Next year will be the 10th year since first iPhone was released, and maybe we could see something different. The rumors say that Apple has some special things in mind for the next iPhone generation. With the information we have now and the premise of the 10th anniversary, is not crazy at all think in big extras for the next iPhone.

In normal circumstances, I’d probably buy the iPhone that Apple will present the next 7th September. I have the 6 model since it was launched in 2014 and two years seem good to me to buy a new one. The things I appreciate the most to do this are (or were, until now) guarantee and new design. Buying the iPhone 7 I’d have a new two-year period of guarantee, but similar design. In the other hand, if I don’t buy it and decide to wait one more year, I’ll found myself desprotected to any possible malfunction.

We should have in mind the price thing also. And maybe this is the factor that makes the difference. The balance between selling my iPhone 6 now, buy the 7 and sell it after one year to buy the next model would pretty much be the same as keep it one more year and buy the 10th anniversary iPhone (because the 6 will lose value).

So maybe the iPhone 7 will be a transition one for me. Or maybe not. That’s the decision I (and we) have to take after September 7th.

--

--

Luis Del Barco
cookiesurfer

Todo lo que es demasiado largo para contarlo en Twitter (@lbarcob).