kale and potatoes

mashed escape

Michael Brooks Jr.
inside my kitchen
2 min readMar 22, 2013

--

Tonight I set out to make something different. Cooking is my escape—I trade in pushing pixels on a screen for pushing ingredients in a skillet. I like to make things my own way, so following recipes isn't my forte (thanks, Mom)!

I opened the fridge with an open mind, and I closed it with these ingredients in hand: golden potatoes from Trader Joe's, fresh kale, peeled garlic, parmesan cheese, and sliced almonds.

This should be interesting.

I filled a pot with water and tossed about 10 little potatoes in. Sorry, guys, you're getting boiled for 20 minutes.

Drizzled olive oil in a pan, cut up garlic into small pieces, and kept them on low heat until I needed them.

I used scissors to cut up the kale, splashed olive oil on top, plus a dash of sea salt. Tossed them on a baking pan and placed them in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes.

The water needed to be drained from the pot, then the potatoes had to be smashed. I pulled the kale out of the oven, tasted a few pieces, ahh ... just right. Sprinkled the potatoes with sea salt, then added the crunchy-crispy kale.

But I wasn't done yet.

I tossed the small pieces of garlic in, added the sliced almonds, sprinkled some flax seed in, shaved the parmesan on top, and then stirred. VOILA!

Things don't always turn out great in my kitchen, but I just keep practicing (I'm coming for you Gordon Ramsay) and that's what makes it fun. It's my escape, and tonight, it was my mashed escape.

--

--

Michael Brooks Jr.
inside my kitchen

Founder and Chief Product Officer @getpeakmoney. Designer. Advisor to @bangsshoes. | Clemson Soccer Alumni | photographer | chef-in-training | GB Packers fan.