Week 12: Way More than Cheese

I love seeing my wife smile.

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah
4 min readJun 3, 2016

--

Each Sunday, my wife and I prepare, cook and eat a meal together — intentionally. Every Friday, I’ll be sharing our experience here in this space. I want to see the growth that will come in our marriage because of this. I hope you enjoy our story. You can find last week’s post here.

I like cheese. A lot. So my eyes got wide as mozzarella, parmesan and ricotta were checked off the list and placed in our shopping cart. It was only a few hours earlier that we had decided on spinach lasagna rolls for our Sunday dinner.

I could barely contain my excitement as we made our way through the grocery store. Item after item until finally…there it stood. The checkout line. Cheesy goodness was almost mine.

We gathered our bags and went home to prepare the meal. Moments after we made it through the door, I went searching for the bag containing the cheese. Sarah cautioned me that we had to first prepare the noodles.

“But, what about the cheese?!” I thought to myself as I dutifully grabbed the box of gluten-free lasagna. A few minutes later, I was given the task of glory.

“How about you start on the salad?” my wife asked.

I have never in my life been so excited about a salad. That meant I could cut the mozzarella!

While I started on the salad, Sarah had to run to the bathroom. I snuck a few bites of mozzarella while she was away. (Sorry, honey.)

After cutting up the tomatoes and adding in the cheese and spinach, the salad was all ready. Despite the sound of mozzarella calling my name, I set it aside for later. Back to the lasagna rolls.

Once the noodles were ready, we filled them with a our cheesy spinach mixture. You can see all the details in my wife’s recipe.

Then, it was time to put the roll in spinach lasagna roll. We laid each strip of lasagna out on a plate and spooned the filling onto it. Then we rolled the lasagna into little cylinders.

We did this standing next to one another at our dinner table. The lasagna was a little slimy, and each time my wife started rolling one, she let out a small chuckle. I looked up at her smiling face and was overwhelmed with thankfulness and joy. No amount of cheese in the world can do that.

I leave you with some more photos of our cooking adventure. Thanks for sharing it with us, and remember to spend some quality time with the ones you love this week.

Thanks for reading. We really appreciate it! If you enjoyed this, don’t forget to tap that heart button below to recommend it. That would be amazing of you!

--

--

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah

Christ-follower. Husband to @SarahLCharles. Simple moments hold great power. Connect with me at my website: www.aarondcharles.com