Week 137: Going Off Script

Sarah blew us all away with her own creation — no recipe…

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah
5 min readOct 27, 2018

--

Each Sunday, my wife and I cook and eat a meal together — intentionally. Every Friday, I’ll be sharing our experience here in this space. I want to see the growth that will come in our marriage because of this. I hope you enjoy our story. You can find last week’s post here.

We were having a group of friends over to our house for a staff meeting to begin planning for next year’s Teen Camp. Naturally, we wanted to prepare some food. It just so happened the meeting fell on a Sunday, so this would also be our Cooking With Sarah creation.

Now, usually, Sarah finds a recipe and we try to put our own spin on it. But this time, Sarah went completely off script. She made her own recipe from what we had in our kitchen and a couple things a brought home from the store. We figured that a cheese dip would be good for such an occasion, and away she went.

You know, lately I’ve been thinking a lot about how much of life isn’t scripted it. Actually, most of life is that way, isn’t it? We think we know what’s coming, but we don’t really. We think we know the plan, but we don’t really. We’re all just going along trying our best.

Maybe you hear that and it sounds depressing. I guess in some sense it kind of is. But lately I’ve been finding great joy in that. Because I think it releases some of the pressure. Let me explain what I mean.

I believe that God has given me a talent for writing. Ever since I was young, I’ve been able to write well. It comes naturally, and I don’t think that’s a coincidence. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve tried to figure out a reason why God would have given me this gift. I’ve tried to live it out. In my head, I see writing as my way to impact others. That’s what I’ve been given, and I have to do something with it. That’s part of why I write these posts. And I write other Medium posts. And I write movie reviews. And I’m working on a novel. And I write in my job. All of it is me trying to find ways to use this talent I’ve been given, because I don’t know what else to do.

There are days — many of them, in fact — when I think I’m not doing enough. I’m not writing enough, or I’m not writing in the way I should be. I should be writing more of my novel. That’s the plan right? God’s given me this gift, so obviously he wants me to write a novel that will communicate the beauty that I see in Him.

But what if that isn’t the plan? Maybe that’s my plan, but what if there’s another beautiful plan out there for me that I’m not finding because I’m so focused on one particular thing?

And, who knows, maybe writing a book is the way to go. I honestly don’t know. I’m certainly not just going to give up on it, because I do feel that God wants me to use my writing in some way. I’d like to see if that’s it, but I’ve been thinking about it a bit differently lately.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that there is no rigid plan. You’re not missing the mark. As long as you’re trying. As long as you’re seeking. As long as you’re leaning in to what it is you’ve been given. I believe those efforts are rewarded.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means to listen. I do a lot of talking through my writing. Sometimes, I think I need to step back and listen. That’s how I’ll find out what it is that God has planned anyways. So I’m going to listen and not think so much about the script.

I’d be grateful if you help hold me to that.

Sarah made the dip, and she even made some Apple Dump Cake too (made with apples from our trip to the orchard).

We laughed and shared great times with wonderful friends. I love how food tends to bring people together. It’s a fantastic thing. And yes, maybe we went off script this week. But when the cook is as good as Sarah, you don’t have to worry about that. I’ll always love going off script with my wife and finding the unforeseen treasures that life has in store.

There’s no one I’d rather share them with.

Thanks for reading. Maybe you’ve been feeling tied to a rigid script lately. Have you ever felt like you aren’t doing enough? You feel compelled to push for more and more? I feel that way often. And I don’t think it’s lazy to push back against that. There’s so much good in listening and waiting as opposed to talking and pushing for more all the time. Anyways, we’re so grateful that you’ve shared a bit of your time with us. We wish you the best as you enjoy simple moments with those you love. See you next week, friends!

And don’t forget to follow Cooking With Sarah on Instagram!

--

--

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah

Christ-follower. Husband to @SarahLCharles. Simple moments hold great power. Connect with me at my website: www.aarondcharles.com