Week 30: An Amalgamation of Yum

A mixture of good times…

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah
3 min readOct 7, 2016

--

Each Sunday, my wife and I prepare, cook and eat a meal together — intentionally. Every Friday, I’ll be sharing our experience here in this space. I want to see the growth that will come in our marriage because of this. I hope you enjoy our story. You can find last week’s post here.

Currently, I’m sitting in a hotel room on the weekend of my brother-in-law’s wedding. There have been many moments today where I’ve been struck by the awe of good times shared with good people. I’m going to get back to that soon, so you’ll have to forgive me for this rather short post. But, a few weeks ago, Sarah and I learned about mixing together good times. It came in the form of baked potatoes and taco meat.

So Much Yum

To my left sat baked potatoes on a baking sheet taken fresh out of the oven. Next to that, sat bowls with various toppings — the most important of which contained the cheese. Down the line sat a tub of sour cream. And then…the motherload. A big heaping pot of taco meat. I could hardly contain myself.

I loaded up my baked potato with taco meat and toppings and proceeded to the couch. There sat the love of my life. Yum, indeed.

More than the food, it was the company. The good times. The moments shared. We sat on the couch watching Netflix while we ate our taco-topped baked potatoes. On the surface, it was nothing special. But in reality, there was so much yum.

Celebrate the Yum

I’ve always loved good food, and I always will. It was one of the reasons we started this publication. But, as you know, the main reason was to highlight the small moments in our lives that hold so much value. That’s what I’m calling the yum.

Right now, my wife’s family is preparing for a grand celebration. There are so many people here that we love dearly. There are about to be many yum moments. So, I’m going to put down the keyboard now and sign off for the week. But, before I do, a quick word of advice.

Celebrate the yum in your life. Cherish even the small moments with those you love. Whether it’s Netflix on the couch or preparing for a wedding, there are so many chances to enjoy simple moments with those you hold dear.

Look out for them. Cherish them. You’ll never regret it.

Thanks for reading. Sarah and I really appreciate it. I’m going to go spend time with our family now. As always, wishing you the best as you enjoy simple moments with those you love.

If you enjoyed this post, check out the recipe so you can make it yourself!

--

--

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah

Christ-follower. Husband to @SarahLCharles. Simple moments hold great power. Connect with me at my website: www.aarondcharles.com