Week 38: Childhood Joys

When’s the last time you thought about what you liked as a kid?

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah
4 min readDec 2, 2016

--

Each Sunday, my wife and I prepare, cook and eat a meal together — intentionally. Every Friday, I’ll be sharing our experience here in this space. I want to see the growth that will come in our marriage because of this. I hope you enjoy our story. You can find last week’s post here.

I had a flashback to my youth.

Cookies in the oven always produced a specific warmth in our house. It was unmistakable. My mom would have to caution me to let the cookies cool whenever we took them out of the oven. Most times I’d still take one before it had fully cooled — becoming a warm gooey mess in my hands.

Sarah and I were having friends over this particular Sunday, and we wanted to make a fun dessert that we’d all share after going out for sushi. (Shout out to Woochi Japanese Fusion & Bar in South Bend, by the way. We always enjoy their food, and Sarah tried seaweed salad for the first time!)

After that adventure, we wanted something fun to eat for dessert. So we decided on ice cream sandwiches! I went to the store, and got all the ingredients including a gluten-free cookie mix to make the sandwiches. When I got home, I could hardly contain my excitement.

When I was a kid, I’d always make sure to cut off a few pieces of cookie dough before my mom made the cookies. It tasted so good, but I didn’t want to take too much and miss out on extra cookies. Childhood dilemmas are the best.

Back then, those were the big problems on my mind — eat the cookie dough now or wait for cookies later. My gut reaction is to pine for those simpler times. To lament the fact that I’m now faced with adult problems that must be faced in adult ways. But then I realize, that’s not right either.

Everyone grows up and faces more responsibility and bigger problems. But would you really trade those for the simpler times? I don’t think I would, come to think of it. Because with bigger problems and responsibilities comes bigger blessing and bigger growth. I’m stretched more now, so I grow more. I have a wife now, and she’s the greatest blessing in my life. I thank God for her every day.

But I am thankful for those simpler times. Like when my brother and I used to play football together outside after school. I think there are echos from our childhood that can tell us something about ourselves today. For me, it’s writing. Even when I was younger, I enjoyed writing. It’s been a passion of mine as long as I can remember. Kind of like the smell of cookies in the oven…

That same familiar smell was now in our apartment. Even without the gluten, I couldn’t notice a difference. Once the cookies had cooled (Yes, I let them cool this time), we scooped out the chocolate ice cream and made the sandwiches. Sarah had to keep me from eating them right then and there. We wrapped them up and put them in the freezer just waiting to serve them up later that evening.

When our friends came over, we all enjoyed each other’s company as we shared the delicious treats. In our Christmas sweaters under the light of our Christmas tree, it was like being a kid again.

I’m thankful for the life I have now. Yes, life brings difficulties along the way. Things aren’t as easy as they used to be. But I’m growing each day, and that brings its own kind of joy. Rising and falling and getting back up again. And doing it all with my wife by my side. But I still do like the taste of cookies and ice cream. Those simple childhood joys.

Thanks for reading! We really appreciate you. Sarah and I wish you the best as you enjoy simple moments with those you love. And if this post resonated with you, make sure to recommend it by clicking the heart button below. Thanks!

For the recipe that accompanies this post, click below.

And don’t forget to follow Cooking With Sarah on Instagram!

--

--

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah

Christ-follower. Husband to @SarahLCharles. Simple moments hold great power. Connect with me at my website: www.aarondcharles.com