Week 84: Health, Part 2

Things aren’t always as they seem, so we face the busy unknown together.

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah
4 min readOct 21, 2017

--

Each Sunday, my wife and I cook and eat a meal together — intentionally. Every Friday, I’ll be sharing our experience here in this space. I want to see the growth that will come in our marriage because of this. I hope you enjoy our story. You can find last week’s post here.

After a week of Sarah being sick, I couldn’t imagine that it would continue like this. She just kept coughing and it wouldn’t stop. I felt helpless, but that paled in comparison to how she felt. And yet, she kept a great attitude while I showed my frustration.

It wasn’t the first time, nor will it be the last, when I realized just how much greater my wife is than me.

But still the sickness continued. She tried going back to work. My wife has a tireless work ethic. It really is amazing. But she literally had no voice. The pain was not subsiding, and neither was her cough.

There again, I was in awe of my wife. Her strength and fortitude were on full display. It’d be nice if, at this point in the story, things all got better. But they didn’t.

As the weekend drew nearer, Sarah still felt sick. I had a 2 hour drive on Saturday morning for a work event for a client. Sarah was planning on coming along. Then, the plan had been for us to drive down to see my Mom since we hadn’t been able to the week before.

But, once again, Sarah’s sickness had different plans.

I ended up going by myself to the Work event, then I spent the rest of the weekend at Mom’s. We had a fantastic time exploring beautiful southern Indiana.

Sarah and I stayed connected even though we weren’t in the same room. It was a tough weekend in some ways, but in others it was exactly what was needed. Sarah had time by herself to rest and recuperate and I got to connect with my wonderful Mom doing what she enjoys most — experiencing nature. There is so much health and vitality in simply stepping outdoors.

By the time I got home on Sunday, it was time for Cooking With Sarah. I stopped at the store just in time to see a fantastic sunset. God has a wonderful sense of timing.

I brought all the items home and Sarah and I went to work making our dessert — chocolate popcorn balls.

It’s interesting that the title of this post is health, because these were balls of pure sugary death. Later in the week we tried them again and both felt a little queasy. But on this night, they tasted great. The creamy caramel was a succulent way to end the day and the weekend.

But even the caramel wasn’t as sweet as the togetherness. We don’t always know what’s ahead. We don’t always know when a sickness or a setback will knock us down. But I’m thankful I have a partner to walk through life with me. Even when we aren’t in the same place, we’re together.

Like a beautiful sunset, it’s nice to end the day knowing that, even if everything isn’t okay, it’s all going to be alright.

Thank you for reading. We really appreciate it! We wish you all the best as you enjoy simple moments with those you love. ❤️

And don’t forget to follow Cooking With Sarah on Instagram!

--

--

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah

Christ-follower. Husband to @SarahLCharles. Simple moments hold great power. Connect with me at my website: www.aarondcharles.com