Week 89: QueSOOOOO Good!

Here’s lookin’ at you, cheese.

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah
2 min readNov 25, 2017

--

Each Sunday, my wife and I cook and eat a meal together — intentionally. Every Friday, I’ll be sharing our experience here in this space. I want to see the growth that will come in our marriage because of this. I hope you enjoy our story. You can find last week’s post here.

At one point when we were cooking, Sarah asked me if we should add in more cheese to the queso we were making. To say I scoffed would be a massive understatement. Of course we should add more cheese!

We were throwing everything together in the crockpot to simmer into cheesy queso goodness. We’ve talked before about how great simmering can be.

We set it all up and let it cook. Soon after, fantastic smells began to fill the kitchen. I could hardly wait to try it.

We had thought about going to our local theater to see a special showing of Casablanca earlier that day. But as we were putting the queso together, we decided to stay in. I had recently purchased a DVD copy of the Humphrey Bogart classic. So we stayed home to watch it ourselves.

So we cozied up on the couch for the afternoon. But before we could start the movie, there was one final ingredient.

The time had finally come to try the queso. Sarah fished some out for us, and I grabbed the tortilla chips. There was so much cheese in the queso that it became an entanglement of stringy strands once you attempted to dip a chip. But I finally got some and tried my first bite.

Queso, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

No, that didn’t actually go through my mind, but the feeling I had from the queso was much the same as I get when I hear that famous last line from Casablanca. It was so good!

Sarah and I finished our queso and we turned on a classic. That sounds like a good day to me. :)

Thank you for reading. Sarah and I appreciate each and every one of you! We wish you the best as you enjoy simple moments with those you love. :)

Don’t forget to follow Cooking With Sarah on Instagram!

--

--

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah

Christ-follower. Husband to @SarahLCharles. Simple moments hold great power. Connect with me at my website: www.aarondcharles.com